All the Holidays and Observances in August

Here's when to celebrate National Girlfriends Day!

The month of August typically signals the end of summer and a return to normal school and work schedules, but there are still plenty of reasons to celebrate this month. Gather your gals for one last summer adventure on National Girlfriends Day, then celebrate all over again during National Friendship Week.

Throughout the month, cool off with a sweet treat by celebrating National Ice Cream Sandwich Day, National Root Beer Float Day, and National Banana Split Day. Plus, these holidays aren't just for people! Celebrate your furry friends by observing National Spoil Your Dog Day and International Cat Day.

No matter which holidays you choose to celebrate this month, there are plenty of reasons to get together with family and friends.

happy and goofy friends swimming in lake in august summertime
Luis Alvarez/Getty Images

Monthly Observances in August

  • American Artist Appreciation Month
  • Admit You're Happy Month
  • Family Fun Month
  • Family Meal Month
  • International Pirate Month
  • National Back to School Month
  • National Eye Exam Month
  • National Golf Month
  • National Immunization Awareness Month
  • National Picnic Month
  • Peach Month
  • Water Quality Month

Weekly Observances in August

  • International Clown Week (August 1-7)
  • International Assistance Dog Week (August 1-7)
  • National Scrabble Week (August 1-7)
  • National Simplify your Life Week (August 1-7)
  • National Smile Week (August 8-14)
  • Friendship Week (August 15-21)
  • Be Kind to Humankind Week (August 22-28)

Daily Holidays in August

Sunday, August 1

Monday, August 2

Tuesday, August 3

Wednesday, August 4

Thursday, August 5

Friday, August 6

  • National Root Beer Float Day
  • National Fresh Breath Day

Saturday, August 7

  • International Beer Day
  • National Lighthouse Day

Sunday, August 8

  • International Cat Day
  • National Bowling Day

Monday, August 9

  • Book Lovers Day
  • National Women's Day

Tuesday, August 10

  • Smithsonian Day
  • National Lazy Day
  • National Spoil Your Dog Day

Wednesday, August 11

  • Play in the Sand Day
  • National Son and Daughter Day

Thursday, August 12

  • International Youth Day
  • National Middle Child Day

Friday, August 13

  • International Left Handers Day

Saturday, August 14

  • National Financial Awareness Day

Sunday, August 15

  • National Failures Day
  • International Homeless Animals' Day
  • National Relaxation Day

Monday, August 16

  • Tell a Joke Day
  • National Roller Coaster Day
  • National Rum Day

Tuesday, August 17

  • National Black Cat Appreciation Day

Wednesday, August 18

Thursday, August 19

Friday, August 20

Saturday, August 21

  • Poet's Day

Sunday, August 22

  • International Tongue Twister Day
  • National Senior Citizens Day
  • National Take Your Cat to the Vet Day
  • National Tooth Fairy Day

Monday, August 23

  • National Sponge Cake Day

Tuesday, August 24

Wednesday, August 25

Thursday, August 26

  • National Dog Day
  • National Women's Equality Day
  • National Cherry Popsicle Day

Friday, August 27

  • National Just Because Day

Saturday, August 28

Sunday, August 29

  • Individual Rights Day
  • National Chop Suey Day

Monday, August 30

  • National Beach Day
  • National Grief Awareness Day
  • National Toasted Marshmallow Day

Tuesday, August 31

Was this page helpful?
Related Articles