All of the Holidays and Observances in March

Spring is on the way and so is a new season of celebrations!

Spring is on its way to end the long winter. Shake off the cold and cabin fever with the many celebratory or honorary dates in March. Mardi Gras (aka Fat Tuesday) kicks off the month on the 1st. The fun continues throughout the month with World Book Day on the 4th and Let's Laugh Day on the 19th.

It serves as Women's History Month and is a time to recognize the many accomplishments of women. International Women's Day and National Girl Scout Day (don't forget to stock up on your favorite cookies!) also take place in March.

hand holding shamrock
Tomaz Sedonja/Getty Images

Even though it's not a holiday—mark your calendars for daylight savings on March 13th and make sure to set your clocks an hour ahead.

Monthly Observances in March

  • Bleeding Disorders Awareness Month
  • Brain Injury Awareness Month
  • Deaf History Month
  • Employee Spirit Month
  • Endometriosis Awareness Month
  • Expanding Girls' Horizons in Science and Engineering Month
  • Honor Society Awareness Month
  • International Black Women in Jazz Month
  • International Ideas Month
  • Irish-American Heritage Month
  • Mad for Plaid Month
  • Multiple Sclerosis Awareness Month
  • National Caffeine Awareness Month
  • National Cerebral Palsy Month
  • National Cheerleading Month
  • National Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month
  • National Craft Month
  • National Ethics Month
  • National Foreign Language Month
  • National Frozen Food Month
  • National Kidney Month
  • National Ladder Safety Month
  • National Multiple Sclerosis Education and Awareness
  • National Nutrition Month
  • National Peanut Month
  • National Umbrella Month
  • National Women's History Month
  • Optimism Month
  • Problem Gambling Month
  • Red Cross Month
  • Save Your Vision Month
  • Social Work Month
  • Trisomy Awareness Month
  • Women's History Month
  • Workplace Eye Wellness Month
  • Youth Art Month

Weekly Observances in March

  • International Women's Week (February 28 - March 8)
  • National Invest in a Veteran Week (March 1 - 7)
  • Celebrate Your Name Week (March 6 -12)
  • Girl Scout Week (March 6 - 12)
  • National Procrastination Week (March 6 - 12)
  • Read an E-Book Week (March 6 -12)
  • Sleep Awareness Week (March 13 - 19)
  • International Brain Awareness Week (March 14 - 20)
  • National Poison Prevention Week (March 20 - 26)
  • World Folklore Tales and Fables Week (March 20- 26)
  • Tsunami Preparedness Week (March 21 -25)
  • National Physician's Week (March 25 - 31)
  • National Introverts Week (March 21 - 27)

Daily Observances in March

Tuesday, March 1

Wednesday, March 2

  • Ash Wednesday
  • National Read Across America Day
  • Old Stuff Day
  • World Teen Mental Health Day

Thursday, March 3

Friday, March 4

  • Employee Appreciate Day
  • National Anthem Day
  • National Grammar Day
  • National Hug a G.I. Day
  • National Day of Unplugging
  • Pound Cake Day
  • World Book Day
  • World Hearing Day
  • World Obesity Day

Saturday, March 5

Sunday, March 6

  • National Dentist's Day
  • National Dress Day

Monday, March 7

Tuesday, March 8

  • International Women's Day
  • National Proofreading Day

Wednesday, March 9

  • National Barbie Day
  • National Get Over It Day

Thursday, March 10

Friday, March 11

  • Johnny Appleseed Day
  • National Promposal Day

Saturday, March 12

Sunday, March 13

Monday, March 14

Tuesday, March 15

  • The Ides of March
  • World Consumer Rights Day
  • World Social Work Day

Wednesday, March 16

Thursday, March 17

Friday, March 18

Saturday, March 19

  • Certified Nurses Day
  • Holi
  • Let's Laugh Day
  • National Corn Dog Day
  • National Poultry Day
  • St. Joseph's Day

Sunday, March 20

  • Equinox Earth Day
  • First Day of Spring
  • French Language Day
  • International Day of Happiness
  • National Kick Butts Day
  • National Proposal Day
  • World Oral Health Day

Monday, March 21

  • California Strawberry Day
  • French Bread Day
  • International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination
  • International Day of Forests
  • National Common Courtesy Day
  • National Fragrance Day
  • National Teenager Day
  • World Down Syndrome
  • World Poetry Day
  • World Puppetry Day

Tuesday, March 22

  • National Goof Off Day
  • World Water Day

Wednesday, March 23

Thursday, March 24

Friday, March 25

  • International Waffle Day
  • Maryland Day
  • National Medal of Honor Day
  • Tolkien Reading Day

Saturday, March 26

  • Earth Hour
  • Epilepsy Awareness Day/Purple Day
  • Make Up Your Own Holiday Day
  • National Spinach Day
  • Prince Kuhio Day

Sunday, March 27

Monday, March 28

Tuesday, March 29

Wednesday, March 30

  • I Am in Control Day
  • National Doctor's Day
  • Manatee Appreciation Day
  • Take a Walk in the Park Day

Thursday, March 31

  • Cesar Chavez Day
  • Crayon Day
  • National Prom Day
  • Opening Day
  • Tater Day
  • World Backup Day
Was this page helpful?
Related Articles