Every state has an official state tree—and Nevada has two! Do you know which tree your state picked?

By Jenny Krane

The mighty oak tree is known for its size and longevity and has been known to stand for strength, wisdom, and resistance. With all those positive associations, it's no wonder it was selected as the official national tree of the United States. Each of the fifty states has its own state tree, often chosen for local hardiness, beauty, or historical significance.


Right: CMR 3399590, Kansas Hwy 36 Treasure Hunt, Fall color, Hiawatha City Lake, Hiawatha, KS

Connecticut: The Charter Oak, white oak (Quercus albus)

Delaware: American holly (Ilex opaca)

MaineWhite pine (Pinus strobus, linnaeus)

Maryland: White oak (Quercus alba)

Massachusetts: American elm (Ulmus americana)

New HampshirePaper birch (Betula papyrifera)

New JerseyRed oak (Quercus borealis maxima)

New YorkSugar maple (Acer saccharum)

Pennsylvania: Eastern hemlock (Tsunga canadensis)

Rhode IslandRed maple (Acer rubrum)

Vermont: Sugar maple (Acer saccharum)

Washington, D.C.: Scarlet oak (Quercus coccinea)


Alabama: Southern longleaf pine (Pinus palustris)

ArkansasPine tree (Pinus)

GeorgiaSouthern live oak (Quercus virginiana)

Florida: Sabal palm (Sabal palmetto)

Kentucky: Tulip poplar (Lirodendroan tulipifera)

LouisianaBald cypress (Taxodium distichum)

MississippiMagnolia (Magnolia)

North CarolinaPine tree (Pinus)

TennesseeTulip poplar (Lirodendroan tulipifera)

South Carolina: Sabal palm (Sabal palmetto)

VirginiaAmerican dogwood (Cornus florida)

West VirginiaSugar maple (Acer saccharum)


Illinois: White oak (Quercus alba)

IndianaTulip tree (Liriodendron tulipifera)

IowaOak tree (Quercus)

Kansas: Cottonwood (Populus deltoides)

Michigan: White pine (Pinus strobus)

MissouriFlowering dogwood (Cornus florida)

Minnesota: Red pine (Pinus resinosa)

Nebraska: Cottonwood (Populus deltoides)

North DakotaAmerican elm (Ulmus americana)

Ohio: Buckeye (Aesculus globra)

South DakotaBlack hills spruce (Picea glauca densata)

WisconsinSugar maple (Acer saccharum)

Mountain West

Right: Fall colors on M-66, Northern Michigan.

ColoradoColorado blue spruce (Picea pungens)

IdahoWhite pine (Pinus monticolae)

Montana: Ponderosa pine (Pinus ponderosa)

NevadaSingle-leaf piñon (Pinus monophylla); Bristlecone pine (Pinus longaeva)

Utah: Quaking aspen (Populus tremuloides)

Wyoming: Plains cottonwood (Populus sargentii)

Pacific Northwest

California: California redwood (Sequoia sempervirens) (Sequoia gigantea)

OregonDouglas fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii)

WashingtonWestern hemlock (Tsuga heterophylla)


Right: Cercis canadensis Eastern Redbud

Arizona: Palo verde (Parkinsonia microphylla)

Oklahoma: Redbud tree (Cercis canadensis)

New MexicoNut pine (Pinus edulis)

Texas: Pecan tree (Carya illinoensis)


AlaskaSitka spruce (Picea sitchenensis)

Hawaii: Kukui tree (Aleurites moluccana)


Be the first to comment!