September 2015

For more information about a product shown in a Better Homes and Gardens story, click on a website below. Details were verified at the time of publication, but we cannot guarantee availability of items or services. If an item isn't listed, it is vintage or discontinued or its source is unknown. Look for the Buy Now link. These select products are available for purchase through ShopBHG.

FIRESIDE COCKTAILS, pages 26–28

Recipes, food preparation, photography and illustration: Erin Gleeson, studio@eringleeson.com; eringleeson.com.

Leather wraps for canning jars Rivet Model 02—Holdster; holdsterusa.com. Glass used for vase similar available as Tall Moroccan Tea Glass in red, sold in set of six glasses—World Market; 877/967-5362; worldmarket.com.

10 THINGS TO LOVE ABOUT VINTAGE TREASURE, pages 31–38

Interior designer: Kishani Perera, Kishani Perera Interior Design, Beverly Hills; 323/935-5422; kishaniperera.com.

Visit Kishani's boutique, Rummage, 7374 Beverly Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90036; 323/935-5483; rummagehome.com.

Bedroom wall paint Cabin Fever—Benjamin Moore; 888/236-6667; benjaminmoore.com. Indigo-and-white bowls Indigo Splatter serving bowls, sold in a set of three nesting bowls—TRNK New York, LLC; trnk-nyc.com. Black-and-ivory blouse Louise top in black—EnSoie; shop.ensoie.com. Woven baskets Venice basket in Sunrise—Eliza Gran; elizagranstudio.com. Fragrance Molecule 02—Escentric Molecules; escentric.com. Gold pots Metallic Crackle Herb pots—Anthropologie; 800/309-2500; anthropologie.com

SIGNATURE STYLE, pages 43–48

Professionals interviewed:

Emily Henderson; stylebyemilyhenderson.com

Gold lamp similar available as Gold Task Lamp from the Threshold collection—Target Stores; 800/800-8800 for a retail store near you; target.com (product line varies). Sandals Kinta—Rachel Comey, New York City; 212/334-0455; rachelcomey.com. Framed artwork similar items available—Source + Summit Co. by Brenna Giessen; brennagiessen.etsy.com; sourceandsummit.co.

Jen Ramos, Made By Girl; madebygirl.com.

Key—The Giving Keys; thegivingkeys.com. Black purse Mini Quilted Affair in black—Rebecca Minkoff; rebeccaminkoff.com. Lip gloss Juicy Tubes—Lancôme; buy now. Glass holding peony Ultima Thule Footed Highball by Iittala, sold in set of two glasses—Finnstyle; 866/617-6176; finnstyle.com. Gold candle holder with skull by D.L. & Co.—Mixology; shopmixology.com. Framed artwork Pink Swan 13, similar items available—Made By Girl; madebygirl.com.

Trina Turk; trinaturk.com.

Necklace Stacked Disc Long Necklace, cocktail napkins—Trina Turk; trinaturk.com. Nail color Cajun Shrimp—OPI Nail Lacquer; buy now. Vintage brass owl dish—Bon Vivant; gmcb.com

COLOR: NATURAL FIT, pages 50–54

Color expert: Patrick Mele, Patrick Mele Design, New York City; 203/550-2264; patrickmele.com.

Featured paints, top to bottom: dark brown paint Bittersweet Chocolate—Benjamin Moore; 888/236-6667; benjaminmoore.com. Yellow paint Eye Catching SW6914—The Sherwin-Williams Co.; sherwin-williams.com. Green paint Do Not Disturb 1117-6—PPG Pittsburgh Paints; 800/441‑9695; ppgpittsburghpaints.com. White paint Chantilly Lace—Benjamin Moore; 888/236-6667; benjaminmoore.com. Tan paint Potter's Clay—Glidden; 800/454-3336; glidden.com.

Freshen Up with Pattern palette, left; Tropical Vacation: Fabric Mauritius in Orage—Pierre Frey; 212/213-3099; pierrefrey.com (to the trade). Green paint Olive Moss, gold paint French Quarter Gold, tan paint Stampede—Benjamin Moore; 888/236-6667; benjaminmoore.com.

Freshen Up with Pattern palette, right; Dose of Adventure: fabric Tam Tam in Bananier—Pierre Frey; 212/213-3099; pierrefrey.com (to the trade). Green paint Dragonwell, black paint Onyx—Benjamin Moore; 888/236-6667; benjaminmoore.com. White paint Delicate White 518-1—PPG Pittsburgh Paints; 800/441‑9695; ppgpittsburghpaints.com.

Fabric for Roman shade Patrick Mele's Grace PMGR 02 in white—Peter Fasano, Ltd.; peterfasano.com. Fragrance Hermès Eau d'Orange Verte—Sephora; 877/737-4672; sephora.com. Notebook Moleskine Classic Notebook—Overstock.com; 800/843-2446; overstock.com. Antelope figurine vintage Dansk antelope paperweight—Ebay; ebay.com, search: Dansk Antelope paperweight. 

 

DOWN TO EARTH, pages 56–63

Oil Rosemary Olive oil, vinegar Fig Balsamic vinegar—Laquinta Olive Oil Co., Laquinta, California; 760/777-9992; laquintaoliveoilcompany.com. T-shirt Perfect Cap Sleeve top—Alternative Apparel; 888/481-8339; alternativeapparel.com. Hat Gold Coast Lifeguard hat—EBags; 800/820-6126; ebags.com. Tinned candle Voluspa Saijo Persimmon candle—Voluspa; buy now. Music—Cesária Évora; cesaria-evora.com. Dark chocolate bars Endangered Species—Vitacost.com; 800/381-0759; vitacost.com

1-2-3 PUNCH, pages 64–66

Fabric designers: Suysel dePedro Cunningham and Anne Maxwell Foster, Tilton Fenwick, New York City; 212/524-0010; tiltonfenwick.com.

Upholsterer: Chase Tyler, The Workroom, Inc., Brooklyn; 212/845-9889; theworkroomnyc.com

STYLE IS ... PERSONAL, page 71

White trays High Gloss Square Tray in white—West Elm; 866/428-6468; westelm.com (product line varies). Colander—Suite One Studio; suiteonestudio.com. Paisley napkin Orange and Pink Medallion napkin, sold in set of four—World Market; 877/967-5362; worldmarket.com. Blue lamp Ion C-Series table lamp in Marine Blue, peach tray 1-Compartment Cafeteria tray in blush, green vinyl case Grass Green Pen case—Schoolhouse Electric & Supply Co.; 800/630-7113; schoolhouseelectric.com

BROOKE'S NEW LOOK, pages 70­–79

Brook's favorite tea—PG Tips; pgtips.co.uk.

Living room: White tray on table—Serena & Lily, Inc.; 866/597-2742; serenaandlily.com. Framed photography Sagg Pond in Magenta and Orange from the Diffused Landscape collection—Lucia Engstrom; luciaengstrom.comPillows on sofa—English Country Antiques; ecantiques.com. Pillow with sailing ship at center of sofa Marina pillow with filler: Matouk; 855/795-7600; matouk.com

Office space: White chair and ottoman Allegra—La-Z-Boy; lazboy.com. Framed artwork—Anna Ullman; annaullman.com. Pillow Cut Circle Pillow cover—Serena & Lily, Inc.; 866/597-2742; serenaandlily.com. Green throw Bulky Olive Green Merino Wood Cable Blanket—Hanks And Needles; hanksandneedles.etsy.com.

Outdoor dining: tablecloth Paradise tablecloth, napkins Elsa—Roberta Roller Rabbit; robertarollerrabbit.com.

Dining room: large shell—Z Gallerie; 800/358-8288; zgallerie.com.

Family room: beach scene artwork—Vincent Laforet; laforetvisuals.com. Photograph above bar cart—Alex Prager; alexprager.com. Chairs at banquette table—Annick de Lorme, Ltd.; capsudusacom. Blue-and-white lidded basket on floor La Jolla Basket in blue, yellow pillows on banquette Kyoto pillow covers, pillow on sofa throw Silk Dot Lumbar pillow—Serena & Lily, Inc.; 866/597-2742; serenaandlily.com. Throw on sofa Super Chunky Throw blanket—LizaDeeOriginals; lizadeeoriginals.etsy.com.

Bedroom: pillowcases and matching duvet Cayman—John Matouk & Co.; New York City; 212/683-9242; matouk.com. Bed tray, blue throw pillow Havana pillow cover—Serena & Lily, Inc.; 866/597-2742; serenaandlily.com. White-framed artwork at small dresser—Anna Ullman; annaullman.com. Textile covering settee—English Country Antiques; ecantiques.com. Blue bag at settee Weekender Bag—Weekender Bag—Filling Spaces; fillingspaces.comThrow on chair—Brahms Mount Textiles; 800/545-9347; brahmsmount.com. Blue dot pillow—Peacock Alley; 800/810-0708; peacockalley.com. Marble vase Table Blue Terre vase, sold in set of 3, blue box on dresser in Midnight Blue—Tozai Home; tozaihome.com.

 

COOKING TO CONNECT, pages 80–86

Bowls—Heath Ceramics; heathceramics.com.

BLUE & WHITE REMIX, pages 88–91

Setting on red-and-blue stripe tabletop: fabric for tabletop—Gray Line Linen; graylinelinen.com. Plate—Royal Copenhagen; 800/431-1992; royalcopenhagen.com. Napkins—Tag2U; tag2u.com. All other items are vintage finds and may be found on Ebay; ebay.com, search: amethyst glassware or goblets, silver-plated pepper grinders, smoked stemware, bone-handled knives, French silver-plated flatwear.

Setting on floral tabletop: all items are vintage finds and may be found on Ebay; ebay.com, search: cobalt blue stemware, gold-plated flatware, salt cellars, monogrammed dinnerware, enameled napkin rings, vintage floral fabric, vintage hem-stitched napkins.

OLD SCHOOL NEW IDEAS, pages 92­–99

Architect—Ben Waechter, Waechter Architecture, Portland, Oregon; 503/894-9480; benwaechter.com.

Living room: table lamp Great Jones Table lamp with Navy Blue shade, plaid chairs Jack Chair in Windowpane Plaid, throw on arm of sofa Signal Stripe throw, blue-and-white pillow Handwoven Mayan Throw pillow in Navy, lamp next to red cabinet Ion lamp in black with Edison Beacon bulb—Schoolhouse Electric & Supply Co.; 800/630-7113; schoolhouseelectric.com.

Kitchen: sconce Princeton Sophomore sconce in Natural Brass with Factory Shade No. 3 in Gloss Black, cabinet pulls Edgecliff Cabinet Pulls in Natural Brass, pendant light Brass Factory Modern No. 5 Pendant, stools Backed Utility Stool in Persimmon—Schoolhouse Electric & Supply Co.; 800/630-7113; schoolhouseelectric.com.

Dining room: chandelier Orbit 12, similar items available, two-tone tan mug Potter's Dinnerware Mug, brass tray Round Brass tray, brass mister on tray Polished Brass Plant Mister—Schoolhouse Electric & Supply Co.; 800/630-7113; schoolhouseelectric.com. Dining chairs Planner Group chairs by Paul McCobb—homeowners' collection.

Lounging and work areas: sectional sofa legs replaced by homeowner—IKEA; ikea-usa.com. Lighting at work area Princeton Sophomore Plug-In sconce with Factory Shade No. 3 in Persimmon, clock Kennedy Clock in Natural Brass case and White Clock face, framed swimming artwork Edge of the Pool Framed Art, framed black ribbon artwork T. R. Wise Words Framed Art, brass planter, plaid blanket on arm of sofa Patti Plaid blanket, rug Draftsman Rug, tray on coffee table 1-Compartment Cafeteria Tray in Parchment, clock to left of sliding glass door Schoolhouse Electric Clock in White, black-framed artwork on mantel Hand-Painted Zebra Cactus Framed Art, canvas holding fire logs Schoolhouse Log Carrier—Schoolhouse Electric & Supply Co.; 800/630-7113; schoolhouseelectric.com.

Master bedroom: lamps flanking bed Bryant Lamp, hanging pendant Factory Light No. 4 Cable in White with Black insulator and cord, duvet and pillow cases Catalina Blossom Duvet and Pillow Cases, large gray pillows Gray Classic Piped Euro Pillows, gold throw Gold Merino Wool throw—Schoolhouse Electric & Supply Co.; 800/630-7113; schoolhouseelectric.com.

Master bath: sconces Princeton Sophomore sconce in Natural Brass with Factory Shade No. 3 in Marigold, round mirror Grant mirror in Marigold, hand towel Waffle Stripe Hand towel, cabinet pulls Edgecliff Cabinet Pulls in Natural Brass—Schoolhouse Electric & Supply Co.; 800/630-7113; schoolhouseelectric.com.

Cubbies off garage: watering can in top cubby Polished Brass Watering can, white bag on hook Schoolhouse tote, play rope Recess rope, peach pillow on cushion Autumn Orange Throw pillow, bag on floor to far left Canvas Utility bag, metal baskets for footwear Municipal Gym Baskets—Schoolhouse Electric & Supply Co.; 800/630-7113; schoolhouseelectric.com.

I DID IT!, page 156

See Lindsay's blog, The White Buffalo Styling Co.; thewhitebuffalostylingco.com.

Door, door stain Dark Walnut by Minwax, beaded board for portico ceiling, paint for portico ceiling La Fonda Mirage by Valspar, shutter paint spray paint in Seaside by Rustoleum—The Home Depot; homedepot.com

RULES? WHAT RULES?, pages Z2–Z12

Architect: Thomas Weber; thomasweber.com.

Design-Build firm: MORE Design + Build, Dallas; 214/217-0704; moredesignbuild.com.

Den: sofa—West Elm; 866/428-6468; westelm.com (product line varies). Coffee tableOly; olystudio.com (to the trade). Lamp—Lisa Luby Ryan: Vintage Living; lisalubyryan.com. Plant container—B. Gover Limited, Dallas; 214/571-9675; bgoverlimited.com. Blue blanket and pillow—Anthropologie; 800/309-2500; anthropologie.com.

Exterior: white planters—Nicholson Hardie; nicholson-hardie.com.

Living room: settee—Lula B's Antique Mall, Dallas; 214/824-2185. Fabric for settee Fig Leaf—Peter Dunham Textiles; peterdunhamtextiles.com. Wall covering—Phillip Jeffries, Ltd.; 800/576-5455; phillipjeffries.com. Mirror—Big Mango Trading; bigmangotrading.com. Fabric for chairs Aga Reverse in taupe on tint—China Seas, through Quadrille Wallpapers and Fabrics, New York City; 212/753-2995; quadrillefabrics.com (to the trade). Coffee table, lamp on side table, bar console table—Ceylon et Cie; ceylonetcie.com. Two-tone basket on coffee tableHomeGoods; 800/614-4663; homegoods.com (product line varies). Green blanket—Anthropologie; 800/309-2500; anthropologie.com. Framed photography—Lyle Owerko; owerko.com.

Dining room: table—Oliver Modern; olivermodern.com. White papier-mache stools—West Elm; 866/428-6468; westelm.com (product line varies). Lamps—Arteriors Home; 877/488-8866; arteriorshome.com (to the trade).

Poolside sitting area: settee—Big Mango Trading; bigmangotrading.com. Rug—Dash & Albert Rug Co.; 800/658-5035; dashandalbert.com. Coffee tableZ Gallerie; 800/358-8288; zgallerie.com. Drinks bucket—B. Gover Limited, Dallas; 214/571-9675; bgoverlimited.com. Beach towels—Peacock Alley; 800/810-0708; peacockalley.com.

Master bedroom: headboard Hacienda—Casamidy; casamidy.com. Bedside tables—Again & Again; againandagain.com. Bench—Oly Studio; 775/336-2100; olystudio.com. Lamp—Scout Design Studio; scoutdesignstudio.com. White bedding, pink duvet, blue blanket and matching pillow—Peacock Alley; 800/810-0708; peacockalley.com. Stripe pillow—Bel Air Studio & Design, Dallas; belairstudioanddesign.com. Flooring—Merida; meridastudio.com. Basket with flowers—B. Gover Limited, Dallas; 214/571-9675; bgoverlimited.com.

Eloise's room: bed—Z Gallerie; 800/358-8288; zgallerie.com. Bedding—Peacock Alley; 800/810-0708; peacockalley.com. Fabric for drapery—Etsy; etsy.com, search: green chevron fabric. Fabric for desk chair—Liberty of London; liberty.co.uk. Mirror—Pier 1 Imports; 800/245-4595; pier1.com. Rug—Calypso St. Barth; calypsostbarth.com. Throw pillow, aqua throw—Anthropologie; 800/309-2500; anthropologie.com.

Lake's room: desk, bed, chrome sconce—West Elm; 866/428-6468; westelm.com (product line varies). Desk chair—Antiques Moderne, Dallas; 214/215-9600. Bedding—Peacock Alley; 800/810-0708; peacockalley.com. Side table—Wisteria; 800/320-9757; wisteria.com. Table lampTarget Stores; 800/800-8800 for a retail store near you; target.com (product line varies).

Comments

Be the first to comment!



Better Homes & Gardens may receive compensation when you click through and purchase from links contained on this website.