May 2016

Better Homes and Gardens magazine cover 2016

ONE BIG HAPPY ROOM, pages 26–33

Interior Design: Courtney Fernan and Kristin Georgi, A Thoughtful Place; athoughtfulplaceblog.com. General Contractor: Jerald H. Foster, Inc., DBA H & J Builders, 330 N. Sherman Ave., Suite 105, Corona, CA 92882; 951/279-8380; jerry@buildhj.com; buildhj.com.

Kitchen: Range, range hood, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave GE Monogram—GE Appliances; geappliances.com. Main sink, island sink Shaws Original, main sink faucet, island sink faucet—Rohl; rohl.com. Counter stools Weldon Backless—Pier 1 Imports; pier1.com. Pendants Laboratory Glass—Shades of Light; shadesoflight.com. Curtain fabric Chiang Mai Dragon in Aquamarine 5001060—Schumacher; schumacher.com. Cabinet hardware—Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Yellow Dutch oven Soleil—Le Creuset; buy now. Wallpaper in entry Arturo Damask—Thibaut; thibaut.com. Pendant in entry Hadley 4-Light Pendant Chandelier—Ballard Designs; buy now.

Living room: coffee table Durham—Ballard Designs; buy now. Blue chair—World Market; worldmarket.com. Wicker chair—Pier 1; pier1.com. White sofa table Parsons Console—West Elm; westelm.com. Stools under table, rug Heathered Chenille Jute, blue stripe pillow—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Green pitcher on sofa table, small rug, chevron pillow, mirror above armoire—HomeGoods; homegoods.com. Armoire—Ethan Allen; ethanallen.com. Curtain fabric Kravet Pelagos Archipelago—Online Fabric Store; onlinefabricstore.net. Dragon pillow fabric Chang Mai Dragon—Schumacher; schumacher.com.

Dining room: dining table Archer Extended, upholstered dining chairs Marseilles—Z Gallerie; zgallerie.com. Metal dining chairs Lyle Metal—Crate & Barrel; buy now. Chandelier Large Rectangle Hanging Capiz—West Elm; westelm.com. Buffet—RJ Imports; rjimportsoc.com. Lamps on buffet (similar) Abbyson Living Mia Fluted Table Lamp—Target; target.com. Curtain fabric Pelagos Archipelago by Kravet—Online Fabric Store; onlinefabricstore.net

I DID IT! pages 48–50

Aqua colanders Aqua Stainless Steel, white ceramic elephant teapot, rug—World Market; worldmarket.com. Pale stoneware, aqua colander Threshold, pale aqua plates, white serving bowls—Target; target.com. Coffeemaker Pour Over Brewer in Contour Silver—KitchenAid; buy now. Striped pitcher—HomeGoods; homegoods.com. Patterned pitcher Elegant Times Cup Water Pitcher, platter Savannah Floral—Wayfair; wayfair.com

A COOK'S KITCHEN, pages 55–61

Pulls (left to right) Larkin Finger Pull—Rejuvenation; rejuvenation.com. Sugatsune DR Finger Pull—ATG Stores; atgstores.com. U-Pull M552—Top Knobs; topknobs.com. Faucets (left to right) Artesso 63225LF—Brizo; brizo.com. Trinsic Pro 9659—Delta; deltafaucet.comAlign Spring—Moen; moen.com. Cutting boards Lämplig Bamboo—IKEA; ikea.comCarving & Cutting—Oxo; oxo.comRectangle Carving—Teak Haus; teakhaus.com

JUST CHILLIN', pages 64–66

Refrigerator General Electric GE Energy Star French-Door Refrigerator in Slate, #GNE29GMHES—GE Appliances; geappliances.com. Shelf liner Charcoal Gray Subtle Stripe—Chic Shelf Paper; chicshelfpaper.com. Metal butcher trays Pro Art 11x15 inches and 7-1/2x11 inches—Amazon; amazon.com. Casserole dishes Anchor-Hocking Glass Bake and Store Rectangular and Square 665226 and 665251, selected pieces from the 3-Piece Glass Storage Container Set 172483, and Set of 4 Mini Square Bowls with Lids 287563—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Spin tray 13-inch Spin Tray 564010, pitchers 34 oz. Glass Refrigerator Pitchers 10015515, jars Le Parfait Glass French Terrines 10052379 and 10052378, tags Natural Wood 10064617, clear bins Narrow Deep Fridge Binz Tray Clear 10052201, egg holders Stay Fresh Egg Holders 10033237, white bins Like-it Bricks 11" Wide Tall Bin White 10065074, Like-it Bricks 13-3/4" Medium Tall Bin White, 10065078, dividers Like-it Bricks Medium Tall Dividers Translucent Pkg/2, 10062529—The Container Store; containerstore.com. Canning jars 24-oz. Ball and Kerr 16-oz. Wide Mouth Pint Jars (in door)—Fresh Preserving; freshpreserving.com; Bormioli Rocco Fido Canning Jar 3-Piece Set 689885—Sur la Table; surlatable.com. Decanters Anchor-Hocking Small Glass Water Carafe (1/2 liter) with Lids 14911487, storage bin Y Weave Room Essentials Small Storage Bin in White—Target; target.com. Egg crate Ceramic Half-Dozen Egg Crate 25443805—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com

OUTDOORABLE STYLE, pages 68–73

Tropical Retreat: glasses Garden Gate—At Home; athome.com. Hanging planter—Tina Frey Designs; tinafreydesigns.com. Rug Happy Yellow Stripe—Dash & Albert; buy now. Umbrella Bamboo and Canvas—Brookstone; brookstone.com. Napkins Mango—Far and Wide Collective; farandwidecollective.com. Chair Poinciana Cadiz—World Market; worldmarket.com. Pillow Genesis Mesa by Better Homes & Gardens—Walmart; walmart.com. Table Dexter—IKEA; ikea.com. Carafe La Bamboo by Global Amici—Wayfair; wayfair.com.

Backyard Yacht Club: umbrella Shade Star by Frankford Umbrellas—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Rug Saylor—Ballard Designs; ballarddesigns.com. Planter Hand-Painted Chinese Planter—Wisteria; wisteria.com. Drink dispenser Cork-Lid Beverage Dispenser and Nito Base—Williams-Sonoma; Williams-sonoma.com. Chair South Haven—Pier 1; pier1.com. Pillow Navy Medallion Oblong by Better Homes & Gardens®—Walmart; walmart.com. Table Maitland by Wildon Home—Wayfair.com. Coasters Typographers Linen—Mark and Graham; markandgraham.com. Bowl Threshold Striped Serving Bowl—Target; target.com.

Modern Oasis: umbrella 10-Foot Natural Cantilever—World Market; worldmarket.com. Chair Acapulco by Harmonia Living—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Rug Biscayne in Aqua—Home Decorators; homedecorators.com. Platter Baguette Dish—Tina Frey Designs; tinafreydesigns.com. Carafe Naturally Cooling Ceramic Carafe by Simon Stevens for Magisso—A+R Store; aplusrstore.com. Table Eos by Matthew Hilton—Design Within Reach; dwr.com. Place mats Register in Copper, Pink, and Teal—CB2; buy now. Planters Uano—Repose Home; reposehome.com.

LAVENDER, pages 76–79

U.S. Lavender Growers Association; uslavender.org. Barn Owl Nursery; barnowlnursery.com. High Country Gardens; highcountrygardens.com. White Flower Farm; whiteflowerfarm.com. Renee's Garden; reneesgarden.com.

THE DIRT, pages 82–84    

'Sensation' lilac—White Flower Farm; whiteflowerfarm.com. 'Purple Pillar' rose of Sharon, 'Pink Perfume' lilac, 'Summer Skies' buddleia—Proven Winners; provenwinners.com.

RAISE THE ROOTS, pages 130-133

Altagracia McCoy's wellness consulting business, Nourish to Thrive: nourishtothrive.today. Corten steel raised beds—Iron Grain; irongrain.com. Herb and vegetable seeds—Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds; rareseeds.com. Bonnie Plants; bonnieplants.com. Johnny's Selected Seeds; johnnyseeds.com. Morningsun Herb Farm; morningsunherbfarm.com. White Flower Farm; whiteflowerfarm.com. Mountain Valley Growers; mountainvalleygrowers.com. Renee's Garden; reneesgarden.com. Colonial Creek Farm; colonialcreekfarm.com. Annie's Annuals; anniesannuals.com.

HOLDING PATTERN, pages N2–N4

Wallpaper Botswana Trees Wallpaper Peridot, headboard fabric Kuba Cloth Taupe-Charcoal, Euro sham fabric Dried Artichoke Charcoal-Taupe, square pillow fabric Zig Zag Taupe-Violet, lumbar pillow fabric Botswana Trees Peridot Multi, bench fabric Kuba Cloth Azure-Violet, bed skirt fabric Fynbos Sprig in Peridot, window shades fabric Zig Zag in Azure-Peridot—Mally Skok; mallyskokdesign.com.

SUNSHINE STATE, pages Z2–Z12

Interior Design: Amanda Sandberg, On Holiday Design; amanda@onholidaydesign.com; onholidaydesign.comKitchen Architect: Allen Wix, Wix Design; wixdesign@verizon.net; allenwix.comLandscape Design: Bridget Skinner, Bridget Skinner Landscape Design; 949/697-6277 bskinner@bsldinc.com.

Dining room: dining table, chairs Chippendale Side Chair—Jonathan Adler; jonathanadler.com. Fabric for dining chairs Trina Turk Zebra Print Bamboo—Inside Fabric; insidefabric.com. Framed bathing suit—Ornate Home; 949/566-9225. Wallpaper Manilla Hemp in Quince—Phillip Jeffries; phillipjefries.comCabinetry—D and B Cabinets; dnbcabinets.com. Countertops Carrara marble—Olin Stone; 714/535-0800.

Living room: sofa—On Holiday Design; onholidaydesign.com. Coffee table smart round marble top—CB2; buy now. Light fixture Ventana 3-tier chandelier—Jonathan Adler; jonathanadler.com. Barstools Vintage Toledo—Restoration Hardware; rh.com.

Patio: sofa, chairs Casabah Armless, Dining table Fuze—CB2; buy now. Lighting—Barn Light Electric; barnlightelectric.com. Outdoor fabric—Pindler; pindler.com. Garden stools Safavieh Aqua Hour Glass—Wayfair; buy now.

Green bedroom: bedding—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com, Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Roberta Roller Rabbit; robertarollerrabbit.com. Green dot pillow Ink Drop—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Chandelier Hempisphere—Z Gallerie; zgallerie.com. Wallpaper 5268 Manilla Hemp in Grass Green by Phillip Jefferies—Inside Wallpaper; insidewallpaper.com.

Orange bedroom: wallpaper Manilla Hemp in Tangerine by Phillip Jefferies—Inside Fabric; insidefabric.com. Bed Window Bed, side table Mid-Century Nightstand in White—West Elm; westelm.com

BHG THROWBACK, page 196

Plate Mallorca Salad—Crate & Barrel; buy now. Bundt pans Nordic Ware Jubilee, Mini Heritage—Sur La Table; buy now. Lemon extract Sonoma Syrup Co. Pure Lemon Extract—Sonoma Syrup; sonomasyrup.com. Cake stand Grey Swirl 10'—Food52; food52.com. Server Sabre Old Fashioned Tart Slicer—Didriks; didriks.com. Meyer Lemons—Melissa's; melissas.com. Zester Microplane Premium Yellow Zester/Grater—Amazon; buy now.

Comments

Be the first to comment!


All Topics in Resources


Better Homes & Gardens may receive compensation when you click through and purchase from links contained on this website.