March 2016

COVER

Orange paint Tango 6649—Sherwin-Williams; sherwin-williams.com.  Orange tile McIntones Ceramics in Solar—Complete Tile; completetile.com. Blue paint Smoke Blue PPG451-5—PPG Pittsburgh Paints; ppgpittsburghpaints.com. Blue tile Penny Round Mosaic Antimicrobial in Cerulean blend 063-Z1-250-028—Complete Tile; completetile.com

COLOR INTO BLOOM, pages 25-30

Wallpaper CL1029 blue—yorkwall.com. Chairs—West Elm; westelm.com. Tabletop Linen tablecloth—Orgin crafts; origincrafts.com. Napkinscb2.com. Small pink plates—cb2.comCopper flatware —shopterrain.com. Quartet Flatware Set. Blue bowl small footed vase, large footed vase by Cultivated Gardens for Middle Kingdon—Global Table; globaltable.com. Marble plates—simplelifeistanbul.com. Wallpaper—tempaperdesigns.com. Compote Middle Kingdom porcelain, Marble Storm, Coral chalk urn planter—terrain.com. Egg cup and cream planter—Ginny Sims Cramics via; shop.thefoundryhomegoods.com.

 

LITTLE GEM, pages 34-38

Interior design: Rayman Boozer for Apt 48; 212/807-1391.

Living room: orange tray Madrid—Apartment 48; apartment48.com. Painting by Giovanni Pasanella—Rebecca Robertson; robertsonpasanella@gmail.com. Rug Safavieh Sonya Hand Knotted Rug—Houzz; houzz.com. Teardrop lamp Sabine—Home Click; homeclick.com. Blue cabinet—similar available at 33 Asian Furniture; 33asianfurniture.com. Blue wall paint Starry Night 2067-20, lavender wall paint Lavender Ice 2069-60—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com.

TEMPORARY MEASURES, pages 50-56

Interior designer: Meredith Ellis, Meredith Ellis Design, Austin, Texas; meredith@meredithellisdesign.com, meredithellisdesign.com.

Living room: armchair fabric Michael Smith's Jasper Indian Flower in Blue—Michael Smith Inc.; michaelsmithinc.com. Fabric for blue and white pillows Rocat Lapis by Tilton Fenwick— Duralee; duralee.com. Wall paint Croquet AF-455—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Console fabric Sweet Nothings in Bluebell—Robert Allen; robertallendesign.com. Basket Huntington—Serena & Lily; serenaandlily.com.

Entry: fabric for green tablecloth Ikat in Olive—Peter Dunham Textiles; peterdunhamtextiles.com. Wall paint Croquet AF-455—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com.

Exterior: paint color Woodland Hills Green #543—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Front door and steps paint color Martha Stewart Batter Bowl Green D27—My Perfect Color; myperfectcolor.com. Bench Teak Outdoor Bench—Overstock; overstock.com. Pillow—Mockingbird Domestics; mockingbirddomestics.com.

Kitchen: cabinet paint color Cool Mint 582—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Ceiling paint color Martha Stewart Batter Bowl Green D27—My Perfect Color; myperfectcolor.com. Teakettle Classic Whistling Kettle—Le Creuset; lecreuset.com

Bedroom: fabric for blue pillows Kashmir Paisley in Tea/Peacock—Peter Dunham Textiles; peterdunhamtextiles.com. Fabric for lumbar pillow Braquenie Le Grand Corail Rayure 2 Chemins—Ethnic Chic; ethnicchic.com. Wall paint Stonington Grey HC-170—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Dresser paint color Carriage Green No. 94—Farrow & Ball; us.farrow-ball.com. Flamingo print American Flamingo by John James Audubon—Art.com; www.art.com. Lamp—Circa Lighting; circalighting.com. Wall paint Vale Mist 1494—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Trim paint Raintree Green 1496—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com

I DID IT, pages 60-62

Rugs—Bed Bath & Beyond; bedbathandbeyond.com; Kohls; kohls.com. Paint Deep Sea Dive 424Q, Play Me a Melody VR083A, Everglade Deck 5011-3, Prussian Cadet 4008-6C, Ship Shape VR080B, Azure Jazz 4011-6, Fly by Night Blue 4009-4—Valspar; valsparpaint.com

TONE IT DOWN, pages 65-66

Black and White: dinner plates Belay—CB2; cb2.com. Salad plates Bistro Black—Walmart; walmart.com. Bowls Middle Kingdom Monk—Global Table; globaltable.com. Napkins set of four—West Elm; westelm.com. Black flatware Black Almoco, five-piece setting—Design Within Reach; dwr.com. Silver and black flatware Ronan five-piece setting—Ralph Lauren; ralphlauren.com. Wineglasses Edge—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Water glasses Vigneili, set of four—Metropolitan Museum of Art; store.metmuseum.org. Fabric for runners—Grayline Linen; graylinelinen.com. Candy bowl—Blue Pheasant; bluepheasant.com. Candlesticks Jatteviktig Candle Holders, set of two—IKEA; ikea.com. Taper candles set of two—Creative Candles; creativecandles.com. Wine cooler Winco WC-7M—Kitchen Restock; kitchenrestock.com. Votives Mod Votives by Shiraleah, set of six—Shopcade; shopcade.com. Salt shaker—Croghan's; croghansjewelbox.com.

Beige, White & Metallic: dinner plates Entertain 365 Shape Faceted, four-piece setting—Lenox; lenox.com. Salad plates Pavilion Salad/Dessert— Oscar de la Renta; oscardelarenta.com. Flatware Hammered Gold-Plated Steak Knives, set of four—Billy Cotton; billycotton.com. Goblets Goblet Glass in Amber—Billy Cotton; billycotton.comTumblers Cassiopeia Glassware, set of six—West Elm; westelm.com. Linens Washed Jute Placemats in Ivory, set of four, Linen Napkins in Natural, set of four—World Market; worldmarket.com. Wooden serving bowl Jillian—Ballard Designs; ballarddesigns.com. Salad servers Twisted Wood Salad Servers—Pier 1; pier1.com. Brass tray Antique Brass Tray, vases Glass Ball Vases, napkin rings Polished Brass, set of four—Jamali Garden; jamaligarden.com. Decanter Pineapple Decanter—Pier 1; pier1.com. Pate knife Bird's Eye Maple Pate Knife—Simon Pearce; simonpearce.com. Spice holder and spoon—Wisteria; wisteria.com

COLUMBINE, pages 72-74


Plants—Bluestone Perennials; 800/852-5243; bluestoneperennials.com. American Meadows; 877/309-7333; americanmeadows.com. High Country Gardens; highcountrygardens.com; 800/925-9387. Plants and seeds—Burpee; 800/888- 1447; burpee.com. Seeds—Swallowtail Garden Seeds; swallowtailgardenseeds.com. Eden Brothers; 828/633-6338; edenbrothers.com.

SUN SHADES, pages 77-78


Dahlia 'Dalaya Yellow': Zinnia 'Profusion Double Yellow'— sakataornamentals.com. Echinacea 'Sombrero Lemon Yellow'—ballseed.com.

COLOR ME HAPPY, pages 110-117

Living room: wall art—Heather Chontos; heatherchontos.comArmhair Carl Isle Gray—Bryght; bryght.com. Pouf Orange Objects—Dusen Dusen; dusendusen.com. Pillow Angle Rose—Normann-Copenhagen; normann-copenhagen.com. Rug Blue Kelim Triangles—Ferm Living; fermliving.com. Side table Octahedron 16x12—Eric Trine; erictrine.com. Plate on table Catherine Lovatt deep pinkk plate—Serax; serax.com. Pendant Aurora Bell Pendant—Room & Board; roomandboard.com. Bird wallpaper Daydream (Blue)—Hygge & West; hyggeandwest.com. Cork bench, black plant pot Sinnerlig, Ilse Crawford for IKEA—IKEA; ikea.com. Floor COREtec Plus Tiles Weathered Concrete #50LVT1803—US Floors LLC; usfloorsllc.com.

Kitchen: background tile Picket—Fire Clay Tile; fireclaytile.com. Napkin fabric Ming Dragon in Persimmon—Dwell Studio; dwellstudio.com. Dessert plate Reve Orange, set of three—Twig NY; twigny.com. Subway tile Lush 3x6 Rain, Mosaic tile Brio Color Cupcake Glass in Pink Mosaic— Mod Walls; modwalls.com. Orange tile Mcintones Ceramics in Solar—Complete Tile; completetile.com. Black bar pulls Brainerd, Style Selections—Lowe's; lowes.com. Cutting board Eucalyptus Maple Paddle—Etsy; forthehost.etsy.com. Pink fabric Pink Cotton #26289.117—Kravet Fabrics; kravet.com. Orange wallpaper Bunkin Raffia—Thibaut; thibautdesign.com.

Bedroom: ladder Hub Ladder—Umbra; umbra.com. Throw on ladder Stripes—Dusen Dusen; dusendusen.com. Rug Shapes Rug Pink Combo, 4x6—Hawkins NY; hawkinsnewyork.com. Basket woven leather basket—Terrain; terrain.com. Headboard wallpaper Grey Marble Wallpaper—Ferm Living; fermliving.com. Copper planter Spun Planter—Yield Design; yielddesign.co. Pink, green, and gray trays Frame trays, set of three—Design Within Reach; dwr.com. Black teapot Catherine Lovatt—Serax; serax.com. Wallpaper panel Tourbillon—Farrow & Ball; us.farrow-ball.com. Desk lamp Pixoss—McNally Jackson Store; goodsforthestudy.mcnallyjacksonstore.com. Pink shams Originel European Sham in Poudre—Yves Delorme; usa.yvesdelorme.com. Floral pillowcases Swedish Farmhouse Washed Linen and Cotton Bedding in Silver, set of two, lumbar sham EF Rippled Organic in Rosewater, Duvet EF Washed Linen Field Green Duvet Cover—Garnet Hill; garnethill.com. Orange pillow Diamond Tile Orange—Bonnie & Neil; bonnieandneil.com.au. Blue leather pillow—Studio Four NYC; themarket.studiofournyc.com. Pink accent pillow Shimmer, throw Blue Rose—Bo Concept; boconcept.com. Bed Platform Queen—Room & Board; roomandboard.com.

Florals: planter (similar) Three Hands Marble Look Flower Pot—Casa; casa.com. Bowl Blush Porcelain Pourer—Clay Kat Ceramics; claykatceramics.bigcartel.comVase Ellis Street—Kate Spade; katespade.com. Table Sinnerlig Table Top, Ilse Crawford for IKEA—IKEA; ikea.com. Arrangement poppies, ranunculus, tulips, garden roses, peonies, jasmine.

Feeling Happy: tray Frame, set of three (set also shown in bedroom)—Design Within Reach; dwr.com. Orange fabric Lanalux in Orange— Alexander Girard; maharam.com. Green fabric Vert Doux Green Velvet Toulouse—Velvets Direct; velvetsdirect.com. Wall to wall carpet  sample Tuftex Tracery in Bay of Hope—Shaw Floors; shawfloors.com. Blue wallpaper Grasscloth CL1029—York Wallcoverings; yorkwall.com. Blue graphic fabric Kelly Wearstler Katana Jade/Teal—Lee Jofa; leejofa.com. Wood floor sample engineered oak, #DCTZO2—PID Floors; pidfloors.com. Knob Clandon Knob—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Blue wall-to-wall carpet Tropical Collection in Pale Aqua—Aronson's Floors; aronsonsfloors.com.

FOXGLOVES, DELPHINIUM, DAISIES, pages 124-127

Homeowners: Guy and Caren Leedom, 137 South Station St., Duxbury, MA 02332. Garden Designer: Harborita, Jeanne Dorey; 508/369-3724; Harborita@cox.net. White Sculptura Garden chairs—Woodard; woodard-furniture.com. Pillows—Home Grown Trades; 603/325-5328.

NEVER A DULL MOMENT, pages 128-133

Interior design: Gehn Sohr, owner, Pencil and Paper Development Co.; pencilandpaperco.com.

Living room: front door color Firecracker SW6867; Sherwin Williams; sherwin-williams.com. Sofa—Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams; mgbwhome.com. Rug Jute  Chenilli Herringbone Rug—West Elm; westelm.com. Pouf Moroccan Scalloped Leather Pouf Ottoman by Ikram Design—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Custom art Square Color Study by Charlotte Hughes—Pencil & Paper Co.; pencilandpaperco.com.

Entry: table, tray on table, basket—West Elm; westelm.com. Lamp—Home Goods; homegoods.com.

Bar cart: leaf art Leaf by Tonje Holand and Ingrid Reithaug—Serena & Lily; serenaandlily.com. Orange sconce—Schoolhouse Electric; schoolhouseelectric.com.

Dining: napkins Coral Paisley Escala—World Market; worldmarket.com. Wallpaper Feather—Serena & Lily; serenaandlily.com. Table (painted blue after purchase)—IKEA; ikea.com. Paint color for table Danube SW6803 (professionally lacquered)—Sherwin-Williams; sherwin-williams.com. Chair fabric Ginkgo Leaf—Forsyth Fabrics; forsythfabrics.com. Chandelier Mobile Chandelier in Brass, flatware Gold Flatware—West Elm; westelm.com.

Bathroom: wallpaper Blossom in Navy—Serena & Lily; serenaandlily.com. Art, striped dispenser—Land of Nod; landofnod.com.

Family room: fabric for Roman shade Ginkgo Leaf—Forsyth Fabrics; forsythfabrics.com. Sofa—Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Coffee table, end table—West Elm; westelm.com. Garden stool, green pillows—Home Goods; homegoods.com. Orange pillow Pumpkin Cosmos Wheat—Hable Construction; hableconstruction.com.

Office: chairs Lucas White Wood Grain—Overstock; overstock.com. Pendant Bentwood—West Elm; westelm.com. Orange lamp—CB2; cb2.com. Sconce—Urban Outfitters; urbanoutfitters.com.

Girl's bedroom: wallpaper Classic Stem by Orla Kiely—Wallpaper Direct; wallpaperdirect.com. Polka-dot pillow—Target; target.com. Basket—Dwell Studio; dwellstudio.com. Rug Souk Wool—West Elm; westelm.com. Sconce (similar) Snoig Wall Lamp—IKEA; ikea.com

BHG THROWBACK, 1973 BLACK & WHITE, page 168

Dinnerware Tikar Series—IKEA; ikea.com. Pillow covers Pirput Parput and Pienet Kivet—Marimekko; marimekko.com. Votives MQuan stripe—Spartan Shop; spartan-shop.com. Tray LG Star Textile Tray—Studio Piano Nobile; studiopianonobile.com. Pendant Bromi Design B6101—Build; build.com. Pouf Black and White Moroccan Pouf—Dot & Bo; dotandbo.com. Sofa Jack Loveseat—Schoolhouse Electric; schoolhouseelectric.com

OPPOSITES ATTRACT, pages Z1-Z4

Family room: wallcovering Greige Grass Cloth—A. Hoke Ltd.; ahokelimited.com. Sputnik chandelier—Palm Springs Vintage on eBay; stores.ebay.com/palmspringsvintage. Painting above fireplace by Judith Williams—JWV Artists Gallery; jwvartists.com. Club chairs vintage—Slate Interiors, Inc.; shopslateinteriors.com. Chair fabric—Mary Jo's Cloth Store, Inc.; maryjos.com. Seagrass rug—HipRugs.com; hiprugs.com.

Dining room: grass cloth—Grasscloth in Shimmering Sisal—York Wallcoverings; yorkwallcoverings.com. Painting—Kiah Denson; kiahdenson.com. Chandelier Maxim Chandelier—Arteriors Home; arteriorshome.com. Chairs Carly Side Chair in Clear—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Fabric for seat covers—Mary Jo's Cloth Store, Inc.; maryjos.com. Barrel chairs vintage—Sleepy Poet Antique Mall; sleepypoetstuff.com. Chair fabric Velvet in Canary—Duralee; duralee.com. White campaign chest vintage—Slate Interiors, Inc.; shopslateinteriors.com.

Study: paneling paint Black Blue #95—Farrow & Ball; us.farrow-ball.com. Drapery fabric—Duralee; duralee.com. Chandelier Morris Lantern—Circa Lighting; circalighting.com. Floor lamps—West Elm; westelm.com. Sofa, velvet chairs—Mitchell Gold + Bob Williams; mgbwhome.com. Gold cocktail table—Worlds Away; worlds-away.com. Desk—Slate Interiors, Inc.; shopslateinteriors.com. Leather cantilever desk chair—Traditions; traditionsofcharlotte.com.

Kitchen: chandelier Capiz Chandelier—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Sconces Aidan Swing Arm Wall Sconce—Lumens Light + Living; lumens.com. Faucet—Grohe; grohe.com. Counter stools Bauhaus—Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Rug vintage—Slate Interiors, Inc.; shopslateinteriors.com.

Bedroom: chandelier Round Glass Chain Chandelier—Shades of Light; shadesoflight.com. Artwork—Crate and Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Headboard fabric—Mary Jo's Cloth Store, Inc.; maryjos.com. Faux fur throw—Overstock; overstock.com. Bench vintage—Slate Interiors, Inc.; shopslateinteriors.com.

Bathroom: framed photographs—Z Gallerie, LLC; zgallerie.com. Sconces—Circa Lighting; circalighting.com. Mirrors Mulan Mirror, painted—Horchow; horchow.com. Vanity—Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Rug—Slate Interiors, Inc.; shopslateinteriors.com.

Comments

Be the first to comment!


All Topics in Resources


Better Homes & Gardens may receive compensation when you click through and purchase from links contained on this website.