June 2015

For more information about a product shown in a Better Homes and Gardens story, click on a website below. Details were verified at the time of publication, but we cannot guarantee availability of items or services. If an item isn't listed, it is vintage or discontinued or its source is unknown. Look for the Buy Now link. These select products are available for purchase through ShopBHG.

FRESH GATHERINGS, pages 22-24

Learn more about Camille's stress-free style ideas at camillestyles.com.

Tablecloth Warm Stripe Picnic Tablecloth—Walmart; walmart.com. White footed compote Patisserie Footed Bowl—Rosanna; buy now.

10 THINGS TO LOVE ABOUT: WEEKEND STYLE, pages 27–35

Interior design consultant: Elizabeth Carr, Elizabeth Carr Interiors, East Coast, United States; 917/855-6489; elizabethcarrinteriors.biz.

Contractor: Hampton Custom Builders, Eastport, New York; 631/325-8625.

Kitchen: sliding window between kitchen and screen porch—Andersen Windows; andersenwindows.com. Pendant light fixture—Visual Comfort; visualcomfort.com. Metal stools—Design Within Reach; dwr.com. Flatware Acrylic Faceted flatware in silver and crystal, striped napkins Seersucker napkins in blue and green—Kim Seybert; kimseybert.com.

Dining room: wall paint Lulworth Blue 89—Farrow & Ball; farrow-ball.com. Dining chairs Riviera Side chair in navy—Serena & Lily; 866/597-2742; serenaandlily.com. Seagrass rug—Natural Area Rugs; naturalarearugs.com.

Living room: sofa fabric Petite Zig Zag in French Blue outdoor fabric—Quadrille; quadrillefabrics.com. Coffee table Fenwick coffee table in Gambol Gold—Oomph; oomphonline.com. Seagrass rug—Natural Area Rugs; naturalarearugs.com.

Screen porch: side chairs Riviera Side chair in navy, end chairs Riviera Arm chair in navy—Serena & Lily; 866/597-2742; serenaandlily.com.

Foyer: wallcovering Sisal in Calypso—Scalamandré; 800/932-4361; scalamandre.com (to the trade). Mirror painted after purchase—Bungalow 5; bungalow5.com. Paint for window Ball Pitch Blue—Farrow & Ball; farrow-ball.com.

Bathroom: wallpaper Endura in Leaf on White—Meg Braff Designs; megbraffdesigns.com.

Bedroom: wall paint Borrowed Light—Farrow & Ball; farrow-ball.com. Bedding Chambray, pajamas—Serena+Lily; serenaandlily.com. Headboard Greek Key—Ballard Designs; ballarddesigns.com. Framed artwork—The Animal Print Shop; theanimalprintshop.com. Bamboo rattan desk and chair from Chris' great grandfather's summer home—homeowners' collection.

BERRY-LICIOUS, pages 36–38

Color expert: Erika Hollinshead Ward, BluLabel Bungalow; blulabelbungalow.com.

Featured paints, top to bottom: White paint Cloud White OC130—Benjamin Moore; 888/236-6667; benjaminmoore.com. Light pink paint Old Rose A38-3—Olympic; olympic.com. Ivory paint Deep Cream NA18—Ralph Lauren Paint; 800/379-7656; rlhome.polo.com. Light lavender gray paint Wild Thistle 630F-4—Behr; behr.com. Bright pink paint Rapture 1-8—Pratt & Lambert Paints; 800/289-7728; prattandlambert.com.

Berries and Cream paint palette, left: wall Bay Sands 5008-1B, textiles Evening Lilac 1002-5B, accents Deep Sunset 1005-3A, Grassland 6004-4A, and Ivy Pasture 6004-6C—Valspar; valspar.com.

Berries and Cream paint palette, right: wall Venus Pink SW6560, trim Pure White SW7005, accents Coral Reef SW6606, Irresistible SW6562, and Sensuous Gray SW7081—The Sherwin-Williams Co.; sherwin-williams.com.

BEST SUMMER WEEKEND, pages 41–48

Hit the Water: iPhone 6 case Armour Shell—Amazon; amazon.com, search: Armour Shell. Striped stools Folding Footstools—Quel Objet;quelobjet.comStripe tote with leather handles and pom-poms Mar Y Sol Caracas Bucket Tote—Garnet Hill; garnethill.comPet travel organizer Petnic in pomegranate—Alessi; alessi.comDog bone treatsBrushing Chews—Milkbone; buy nowBlue water bottle, green dog waste bags, orange-and-white rope ball—Target; target.comRed striped ball Good Dog ball—Harry Barker; buy now.

Grill-Out: galvanized metal table and bench Desna Long table and bench—Nectar; shopnectar.com. Plates Coastal Blues Dinner Plates, sold as a set of four—Williams-Sonoma; williams-sonoma.com. Pastel glasses The Cellar Set of 4 Assorted Color Short Tumblers—Macy's; macys.com. Napkins Jolie Print Cotton Napkins—Tag; tag2u.com. Oval wood patter Universal Expert Snack Platter—West Elm; westelm.com. Vegetable snippers Small Pruning scissors—The HomePort Collections; thpc.us. Pitcher Pomegranate Bauble pitcher—Canvas Home; canvashomestore.com. Fish platter with salad, round wood pizza peel—World Market; worldmarket.com. Blue table runnerLibeco; libeco.com. 5×7 Oriental rug—Vivaterra; vivaterra.com.

Now Playing: projector PowerLite Home Cinema 600—Epson; buy now. Outdoor speakers Pasadena—AR; acoustic-research.com. Canvas cart Sandusky Folding Utility cart—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Rectangular red cooler Picnic Cooler in red—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Aqua blue oval container Blue Oval Enameled Metal Bin—The Container Store; containerstore.com. Tall blue lantern with wire handle Soji Stella Solar lantern in Midnight Blue—Allsop Home & Garden; allsopgarden.com. Fringed towel Pinstriped Fouta Beach towel—Serena & Lily; serenaandlily.com. Drum stool Lili Punched Drum Stool—World Market; buy now. Bug spray Erbaviva Organic Bug spray—Rodale's; Rodales.com. Paper napkins Lulu's Rainbow paper napkins in blue—Caspari; casparionline.com.

Soda Floats: glasses Spülgen glass—Alessi; alessi.com. Straws—High Fashion Home; highfashionhome.com.

THE HAPPIEST HOUR, pages 55–58

Visit Tara's website, Tara Guérard Soirée; taraguerardsoiree.com.

Architect: Johnny Tucker, John Douglas Tucker, Architect, John's Island, South Carolina; 843/303-1594; tuckerarchitect.com.

Kitchen designer: Julie Rogers, Julie Rogers Design; Charleston, South Carolina; 843/270-2114; stonojr@yahoo.com.

Interior designer: Angie Hranowsky, Angie Hranowsky Design Studio, Charleston, South Carolina; 843/810-3286; angiehranowsky.com.

Garden party: linen napkins from the Linen Hemstitch Cocktail Napkins from the Tara Guérard collection, Lucite letter tray Cocktails at 6 Tray, sold as a party set—From the Tara Guérard collection through Lettered Olive; taigan.com/shops/theletteredolive. Vase antique Turkish Honey/Butter pot CPAP4—GDC Home, Charleston, South Carolina; gdchome.com. Wrought-iron settee—Ebay; ebay.com. Chinese garden stool, green glass vase—John Pope Antiques; johnpopeantiques.com. Glasses Custom Etched Oak Tree by Tara Guérard—CB2; cb2.com. Bar table—Antiques of South Windemere; clydeantique.com. Woven tray Tytus by Made Goods—Candelabra; shopcandelabra.com. All other tableware, tablecloth—homeowners' collection.

Kitchen: cabinetry, island, and mirrored backsplash custom design—Julie Rogers Design; Charleston, South Carolina; 843/270-2114; stonojr@yahoo.com. Refrigerator—Sub-Zero, Inc.; subzero.com. Sink—Villeroy & Boch; villeroy-boch.com. Faucets—through Ferguson; for store locations see ferguson.com. Rug—Zinn Rug Gallery; zinnruggallery.com. White bowl with fruit on island—Morris Sokol Furniture; morrissokol.com. Linen towel Prim & Proper by Danica Studio—Gretel Home; gretelhome.com. Mortar and pestle, dinner plates and cereal bowls on shelf Pillivuyt—Williams-Sonoma; williams-sonoma.com. Large white pitcher on shelf White Stoneware Water pitcher—Billy Cotton for the Table; billycotton.com. All other items—homeowners' collection. Tara's green silk shirt, necklace Chanel—Gwynn's of Mount Pleasant, South Carolina; gwynns.com.

Breakfast area: table Tulip Table by Eero Saarinen—homeowners' collection. Chairs Lane chair by Tara Guérard—Frank & Lane; frankandlane.com. Rug, pitcher BZA Small White Pitcher—GDC Home; gdchome.com. Bowl White Mixing bowl—Billy Cotton for the Table; billycotton.com. Pot with plant—Elizabeth Stuart Design, Antiques and vintage, esdcharleston.com. Sugar bowl—Abide-A-While, Mount Pleasant, South Carolina; 843/884-9738. 

TECH OUT YOUR DECK, pages 62–63

Speaker Hatteras indoor/outdoor wireless Bluetooth stereo speaker—Acoustic Research; acoustic-research.com. Bluetooth thermometer iGrill 2—iDevices; idevicesinc.com. Propane tank monitor ReFuel Smart—Quirky; quirky.com. Bartending scale Perfect Drink—Pure Imagination, LLC; perfectdrinkapp.com

BEST DRESSED, pages 66–69

Wall paint Nearly Peach, SW6336—Sherwin-Williams; Sherwin-williams.com. Dresser body paint Duck Egg Blue, dresser top paint Pure White—Annie Sloan Chalk Paint; anniesloan.com. Brass-and-glass jewelry box Arca, white-and-tan carved jewelry box Ramphan, similar items available, blue-green brass-trimmed round knob in picture frame Callisto, white trinket dish with two swans Swimming Swans Trinket dish—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Vase with flowers Textured Mercury Vase, nesting trays holding perfume bottles Metallic Lacquer Trays, set of two, rectangular glass box—westelm.com. White oval tray holding swimming swans Stuff tray—Walmart; walmart.com. Chair to right of dresser Louis-XVI French Blue Chair—Wisteria; wisteria.com. Paper for outer sides of drawers Wildflower Print—Rifle Paper Co.; riflepaperco.com. Bone-and-iron knob for jewelry sold in set of two, green embossed ceramic knob sold in set of two—World Market; worldmarket.com

HER FAVORITE THINGS, pages 74–80

Interior designer: Danielle Colding, Danielle Colding Design, Inc., New York City; 646-300-1591; dcdny.com.

Living room: Sofa custom—Emanuel Decorators & Upholsterers; emanueldecorators.com. Fabric for sofa blue linen—Norbar Fabrics; norbarfabrics.com (to the trade). Lamps—Andrew Martin; andrewmartin.co.uk. Sunburst mirror, drapery hardware—West Elm; west.com. Drapery—Restoration Hardware; restorationhardware.com. Drapery hardware, tan-and-white stripe pillow—West Elm; westelm.com. Chandelier—Arteriors Home; buy now. Fabric for chair—F. Schumacher & Co; fschumacher.com (to the trade). Aqua juju hat—AuthenticAfrica.Com; authenticafrica.com. Large sofa pillow, far right Kuba Cloth pillow—Wisteria; wisteria.com. Clear glass tumbler with pink flowers Twisted Handblown Tumbler—Classical Twist Glass; classicaltwistglass.etsy.com. Turquoise-and-white pillow Hammock Decorative Pillow—John Robshaw; johnrobshaw.com. Rug—Patterson, Flynn & Martin; pfmcarpet.com (to the trade). Octagonal hurricane on table—Jamali Garden; jamaligarden.com. Framed photography between windows by Mike Ruiz—homeowners' collection.

Kitchen: floor runner Reverb Black runner—CB2; buy now. Window shade custom—David Haag Workroom; davidhaag.com. Fabric for shade Les Touches—Brunschwig & Fils; 800/538-1880; brunschwig.comMiddle framed artwork—Framesmith Gallery, Princeton, New Jersey; 609/452-8488. Top right artwork Boxer—Jerome Lagarrigue; jeromelagarrigue.com. Small red butterfly artwork by Paul Waldman—represented by Lennon, Weinberg, Inc.; lennonweinberg.com. Framed artwork with green mat—Charles Bibbs; cbibbs.com. Artwork of African woman with yellow background, bottom right sketch, mask by window—homeowners' collection.

Bedroom: Headboard—One Kings Lane; onekingslane.com. Sheet and pillows with gray border Modern Border duvet cover and Euroshams in smoke—AllModern; allmodern.com. Fabric for cover at end of bed—Suno; sunony.com. Light-blue-and-white patterned pillows Bay Eurosham—John Robshaw; johnrobshaw.com. Chandelier—Circa Lighting; circalighting.com. Sunburst mirror—homeowner's collection.

Dressing room: wall paint Dragon's Breath—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Desk—West Elm; westelm.com

GARDEN KNOW-HOW, pages 88-95

Anual vines—burpee.com. Coleus—local garden centers. 

LIFE IN COLOR, page 97

Spoons Teak Stirrers by Be Home, sold as a set of four—Mūhshome; muhshome.com. Napkins Paper Beverage napkins, sold in 50-count one color—Target; target.com. Glasses Marta Pink Double Old-Fashioned glass, pitcher Beaker Glass pitcher—CB2; cb2.com

OUT FOR FUN, pages 98–105

Architect: Heidi Richardson, Richardson Architects, Mill Valley, California; 415/380-0474; richardsonarchitects.com.

Interior designer: Tineke Triggs, Artistic Designs for Living, San Francisco; 415/567-0602; adlsf.com.

Outdoor dining and living area: Living area furniture, dining room table—Restoration Hardware; 800/910-9836; restorationhardware.com. Aluminum chairs Foundry Side chair—Sundance; sundancecatalog.com. Decorative salad plates—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Blue plates similar items available—JC Penney; jcpenney.com.

Dining room: table antique—homeowners' collection. Chairs Anziano chair in cognac leather—Donghia; donghia.com. Chandelier Thomas O'Brien 3 Light Linear Pendant—Visual Comfort; visualcomfort.com.

Family room: framed artwork at mantel—Tjiasa Owen; tjasaowen.com. Sectional sofa, rug, hemp poufs, and design of boudoir pillows custom—Artistic Designs for Living; adlsf.com. Fabric for boudoir pillows—Galbraith & Paul; galbraithandpaul.com. Chevron stripe pillow and orange cashmere throw—One Kings Lane; onekingslane.com.

Kitchen: tile for backsplash Painted Brick—Wateworks; waterworks.com. Countertops pietra grigio marble—contact local cut stone suppliers.

Range, hood, and refrigerator all in matte finish—Viking Range Corp.; vikingrange.com. Barstools—Sundance Home; sundancecatalog.com. Wall paint Decorators White—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Pendants at island—Roost; roostco.com.

Foyer: chandeliers—Visual Comfort; visualcomfort.com. Rug custom—Artistic Designs for Living; adlsf.com. Office chair—IKEA; ikea-usa.com.

Porch: black chairs—Grandin Road; grandinroad.com.

UPS AND DOWNS, pages 108-111

Landscape Design: Lori Scott Landscape; LoriScottLandscape.com. Metal artist for iron screen, iron sculptural spere, and sculpture in front of bamboo—Ivan McLean; 503/679-5433. Covered area: lounging chairs—Lloyd Flanders; furnitureforpatio.com. Table, pillows—crateandbarrel.comFire Pit area: Worley End Tableworldmarket.com. Heavy Duty Wood Beach Chair—beachmall.comUnder deck drainage system—TimberTech; timbertech.com. Deck/stair railing—Hansen Architectural Systems; aluminumrailing.com. Reflective fire glass—lowes.com

LOVING SUMMER, pages 112-118

Grill The Love box; lovebodega.com. Tablecloth—anthropologie.com. Plates in white—billycotton.com. Knife blocks—abchome.com. Knives
 (set of 4) R. Murphy Steak Knives for Food 52; food52.com. Water glasses, salad bowl, arrangements—potterybarn.com. Wine Glasses Modern Red Wines Glasses—West Elm; westelm.com. Pies on board—Dara Artisans; daraartisan.com. Margarita Glasses—williams-sonoma.com. Various pots and plants—Into the Garden; intothegardentexas.com. Plant and flower arrangements—Twigs; twigs-floral.com

I DID IT!, page 168

Spray paint for curtains Lagoon, Seaside, and Key Lime—Rust-Oleum; rustoleum.com. Chairs Allen + Roth Gatewood—Lowe's; buy now. Table White Lili Punched Drum Stool—World Market; buy now. Hurricane candle—HomeGoods; homegoods.com.

TWISTS and SHOUT pages Z2—Z4

Wall paint Topsail SW6217, trim and ceiling paint Extra White SW7006—Sherwin-Williams; Sherwin-williams.com. Sinks Archer Under Mount sink in white, sink faucets, shower handle and tub faucet Margaux in polished chrome, shower head Bancroft in polished chrome, toilet Kelston in white, medicine cabinets Bancroft—Kohler; kohler.com. Light fixtures Progress Lighting—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Countertop and half wall caps polished white Carrara marble—Furnished and installed by 3CM Stone, Inc.; 3cmstone.com. Floor tile Provenza Q-Stone in gray—Paulson's; paulsonsfloorcoverings.com. Accent tile Penny Rounds ModDotz in marshmallow—ModWalls; modwalls.com. Accent tile Carrara marble, wall tile Rittenhouse white subway tile by Dal-Tile—through Contract Furnishings Mart; cfmfloors.com. Cabinetry—Cutting Edge Custom Cabinets, Inc.; cuttingedgecc.com. Cabinet stain—homeowners' custom mix. Cabinet door knobs Modern Expression by Richelieu Hardware in polished chrome—MyKnobs.com; myknobs.com. Cabinet drawer pulls Asbury—Restoration Hardware; restorationhardware.com. Towel bar Oversized Adjustable Metal Curtain rod in polished nickel, rugs Recycled Jersey Bath Mat—West Elm; westelm.com. Shelving unit, wall hooks, clothes hamper, wall clock—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com

The Play Den, pages N2–N4

Curtains similar items available, book basket, shelves—IKEA; ikea-usa.com. Rug—West Elm; westelm.com. Red chairs, raccoon toy—Land of Nod; landofnod.com. Lampshade—World Market; worldmarket.com. Crayon container—Target; target.com. Market box—Pottery Barn Kids; potterybarnkids.com. Floor pillows—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Side table, globes, dresser—homeowners' collection. 

Comments

Be the first to comment!


All Topics in Resources


Better Homes & Gardens may receive compensation when you click through and purchase from links contained on this website.