July 2016

HAPPY YELLOWS, pages 19–20

Light The Downtown Minimalist Sconce—Barn Light Electric; barnlightelectric.com. Chair Modway Insect Dining—ATG Stores; atgstores.com. Pillow Hand-Dyed Shibori Diamonds—Minted; minted.com. Office supplies Yellow Dynamic Duo— Poppin; poppin.com

IN SKILLED HANDS, pages 22–29

Interior Design:  Courtney Fernan, A Thoughtful Place; athoughtfulpplaceblog.com.

Living room: wall color Cochise DEC761, trim color Swiss Coffee DEW341—Dunn Edwards; dunnedwards.com. Rug (similar) Olin Black Striped Cotton Dhurrie—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com, buy now. Sofa (similar) Pearce—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Coffee table Cameron (painted after purchase)—World Market; worldmarket.com, buy now. Blue chairs—Home Goods; homegoods.com.

Dining room: wall color Cochise DEC761, trim color Swiss Coffee DEW341—Dunn Edwards; dunnedwards.com. Dining table Wood Garner Extension—World Market; worldmarket.com, buy now. Chandelier Troy Lighting Sausalito 5-Light, Silver Gold Finish with Hardback Linen Shades—Amazon, amazon.com, buy now. Cart Velma Mirrored (painted after purchase)—Joss & Main; jossandmain.com.

Kitchen: wall color Cochise DEC761, trim color Swiss Coffee DEW341—Dunn Edwards; dunnedwards.com. Fabric in cabinets Lovely Lattice—Waverly; fabric.com.

Master bedroom: wall color Pale Oak OC-20—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Trim color Swiss Coffee DEW341—Dunn Edwards; dunnedwards.com. Wallpaper Augustus Viva in Smoke by Clarke & Clarke—Wallpaper Direct; wallpaperdirect.com. Bedding Linden Grey Border—Crane & Canopy; craneandcanopy.com.

Bathroom: wall color Pale Oak OC-20—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Trim color Swiss Coffee DEW341—Dunn Edwards; dunnedwards.com. Vanity Allen + Roth Vanover White Under Mount Single Sink Birch with Natural Marble Top, floor Style Selections Serso Mahogany Porcelain Tile—Lowe's; lowes.com. Faucet—Newport Brass; newportbrass.com. Light fixture (similar styles available)—Schoolhouse Electric; schoolhouseelectric.com.

Boy's bedroom: wall color Clear Moon PWN-30—Behr; behr.com, trim color Swiss Coffee DEW341—Dunn Edwards; dunnedwards.com. Bed Captains Twin White—Bunk Bed King; bunkbedking.com. Bed hardware Plain Ring Pulls—Lee Valley; leevalley.com. Dresser color Apple Green by Rust-Oleum—Home Depot; homedepot.com.

Girl's bedroom: wall color Clear Moon PWN-30, ceiling color Tangerine Dream 210B-5 (diluted with white)—Behr; behr.com. Trim paint color Swiss Coffee DEW341—Dunn Edwards; dunnedwards.com. Duvet Portofino—Pottery Barn Teen; pbteen.com. Wall decals Mini Polka Dots—Urban Walls; uwdecals.com. Desk, stool—Home Goods; homegoods.com. Glass table lamp, mirror, wrapping paper (on walls)—Target; target.com. White boxes on shelf—IKEA; ikea.com.

 

HANDS-ON FAVORITES, pages 30–37

Toolbox Utility Supply Box—Schoolhouse Electric; schoolhouseelectric.com. Screwdriver Lutz 15-in-1, hot-glue gun Stanley GR20AX Hot-Melt, corded drill Black & Decker Matrix AC Drill/Driver—Amazon; amazon.com. Glue remover Goo Gone—Michael's; michaels.com. Moldable glue—Sugru; sugru.com. Cordless drill Dewalt 20-volt, laser Bosch GLM 15—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Sewing machine Spiegel 60609—Walmart; walmart.com. Shades—Color Cord Company; colorcord.com. Furniture legs assorted wood table legs, paintbrush Blue Hawk Short Angled 2-inch Paint Brush, spray paint Valspar Gold Spray Paint—Lowe's; lowes.com

I DID IT!, pages 38–40

Window/door casing Finger-Jointed Wood Base Moulding in Primed White and Pine—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Print Staredown—Minted; minted.com. Black and white pillow Threshold Global Oversized Lumbar—Target; target.com. Multicolor pillow cover Angled Crewel—West Elm; westelm.com. Sheets, pillowcases Luxe Core Sheet Set in Window Pane—Brooklinen; brooklinen.com. Quilt Lorie Ink by Dwell Studio—Candelabra; shopcandelabra.com.

STATE DINNER, pages 46–50

Gingham napkins Red Gingham Napkin, set of four—Pier 1; pier1.com. Flatware Ginkgo International Lyon 20-piece Stainless Steel Flatware Place Setting for Four—Overstock; overstock.com. Vintage blue plates, salt and pepper shakers, state shot glasses (similar)—Ebay; ebay.com. Fabric for tablecloth—Gray Line Linen; graylinelinen.com. Flowers—Dutch Flower Line; dutchflowerline.com.

Blue geometric napkins Jewel Linen in Navy, set of four—Serena & Lily; serenaandlily.com. Hot dog tray 36 pc. Heavy Weight 6" White Paper Fluted—Etsy; etsy.com. Vintage assorted trays, state shot glasses, blue and white cake stand (similar)—Ebay; ebay.com. Red geometric tablecloth Breeze Firecracker SC10030.519—Lee Jofa; leejofa.com.

State silver and gold flatware (similar)—Ebay; ebay.com.

MOMENTS OF ZEN, pages 53-56

Synthetic turf—Synlawn; synlawn.com. Precast concrete pavers—Stepstone Inc.,; stepstoneinc.com. Water feature—Modern Scupper spill styled fountain: similar available—Fountains Unique; fountainsunique.com. Dining table and chairs, sectional, Cantilever umbrella—Crate and Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Coffee table Element—CB2; cb2.com. Glazed blue pots by kitchen door—Jackalope Pottery; jackalopepottery.com. Pots to right of sectional—West Elm; westelm.com. Large grey pot left of sectional—IKEA; ikea.com. Small grey pot—LA Flower Market; 213/627-3696.

TOUGH CUSTOMERS, pages 59-62

Water-wise plants: American Meadows; americanmeadows.com. Cactus Store; cactusstore.com. High Country Gardens; highcountrygardens.com. Containers: Roger's Gardens; rogersgardens.com.

THE DIRT, page 64

Annual vines: Burpee Seeds; burpee.com. Johnny's Selected Seeds; johnnyseeds.com. Renee's Garden Seeds; reneesgarden.com.

HER BEST FRIEND, CRAIG, pages 86–91

Vintage furniture dealer: Charmaine Nunag, New Berlin, Wisconsin.

Dining room: wall color (above chair rail) Iced Cube Silver 2121-50, (below chair rail) Atrium White OC-145—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Table, chairs, chandelier, floor lamp, brass candlesticks, china pieces—Craigslist; craigslist.org. Rug—The Cowhide Store; thecowhidestore.com. Curtains (embellished with ribbon after purchase)—IKEA; ikea.com. Artwork Beverly Series—The Aestate; shoptheaestate.com. Plates Como Splash, glasses Edge Glass —Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Candles Pink Petal Taper, box of six, 7/8x12—Creative Candles; creativecandles.com. Chargers Kate Spade Hopscotch Dr 11" in Green—Lenox; lenox.com.

Entry: wall color Atrium White OC-145—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Door color Tomato Red 2010-10—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Floor tiles White Marble and Black Granite—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Bench vintage—I Dream In Vintage; idreaminvintage.com.

Living room: wall color Iced Cube Silver 2121-50—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Sofa (similar)—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Chairs, coffee table, chests, lamps vintage—Craigslist; craigslist.org. Curtains (embellished with ribbon after purchase)—IKEA; ikea.com. Black and white pillow Nake Berkus—Target; target.com. Artwork above sofa—Jenny Andrews Anderson, jennyandrewsanderson.bigcartel.com.

Family Room: wall color Atrium White OC-145, bookcase color Golden Delicious 390—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Chairs, coffee table vintage—Craigslist; craigslist.org. Elephant lamp—Erin Giglia Design; eringigliadesign.com.

Master bedroom: wall color (above chair rail) Stonington Gray HC-170, (below chair rail) Atrium White OC-145—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Headboard Nail Button Wingback Tufted in Pumice by Skyline Furniture—Target; target.com. Nightstand vintage—Erin Giglia Design; eringigliadesign.com. Bench—Overstock; overstock.com. Rug Tunisa Collection—Safavieh; safavieh.com. Duvet—One King's Lane; onekingslane.com. Artwork Nancy Powell—powellbrower.com

INTO THE WILD, pages 92-95

Hollyhocks, nicotiana: Annie's Annuals & Perennials; anniesannuals.com. Dahlias: Old House Gardens; oldhousegardens.com. Longfield Gardens: longfield-gardens.com. Banana, brugmansia, solanum: Logee's; logees.com.

MATERIAL GIRL, pages 96–99

Living room: jute rug Safavieh Hand-Woven Natural Fiber Natural Accents Thick Jute Rug, 9x12, rattan chair Birdie Rattan Chair—Overstock; overstock.com.  Moroccan rug Beni Alaham Rug—Breuckelen Berber; breuckelenberber.com. Small rug The Agnes Rug in Peach, throw on white chair The Isle Throw —Minna; minna-goods.com. Frames—IKEA; ikea.com. Patterned pillows—Rebecca Atwood; rebeccaatwood.com. Solid pillows Belgian Linen Contrast Pillow Cover—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Side table White Marble and Metal Round Accent Table—World Market; worldmarket.com. Coffee table Shroom Coffee Table—CB2; cb2.com

TRUE BLUE, page 102

BrazelBerries blueberries: brazelberries.com for a retailer near you. White Flower Farm; whiteflowerfarm.com.

1944 VICTORY GARDENS, page 128

Compost keeper 4-quart White Ceramic by Norpro—Target; target.com, buy now. Garden baskets—Barebones; barebones.com. Bamboo markers, trowel, and fork—Bambu Home; bambuhome.com. Watering can Haws Traditional—Williams-Sonoma; williams-sonoma.com. Tool roll Gardener's Tool Roll, gloves Gold Leaf Dry Touch Gloves—Gardener's Supply Co.; gardeners.com. Shears Herb and Veggie Shears—Fiskars; fiskars.com. Tool Sun Joe Hori-Hori Digging Tool—Home Depot; homedepot.com

FULLY LOADED, pages Z1–Z4

Sink Shaw, faucet (similar) Symmons Carrington 8 in. Widespread 2-Handle Mid-Arc in Chrome, subway tile (similar) Rittenhouse Square Desert Gray 3x6 in. Ceramic Bullnose Wall Tile—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Wall color Simply White OC-117—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Wallpaper Benvarden by Osborne & Little—Wallpaper Direct; wallpaperdirect.com. Clock—IKEA; ikea.com. Baskets—Home Goods; homegoods.com

1 Comment

  1. My son recently moved from Tampa to north-central Wisconsin. I was helping out by doing laundry at a local laundromat and thumbed through your July 2016 issue. Your article "Material Girl" caught my eye - particularly the sketches by the young designer. That's because they reminded me of my late aunt who had made a similar design in her first fabric design class in 1952 at the University of Illinois. Alas, my aunt did not become a designer, but your article brought back sweet memories of my aunt and the fabric she designed, produced and then sewed into a stylish dress. I'd like to get a back issue of the July 2016 edition. Is that possible?


All Topics in Resources


Better Homes & Gardens may receive compensation when you click through and purchase from links contained on this website.