July 2015

For more information about a product shown in a Better Homes and Gardens story, click on a website below. Details were verified at the time of publication, but we cannot guarantee availability of items or services. If an item isn't listed, it is vintage or discontinued or its source is unknown. Look for the Buy Now link. These select products are available for purchase through ShopBHG.

FRESH GATHERINGS: 4th of July, pages 24-26

Floral plates Farmhouse Touch Blue Flowers Salad plate—Villeroy & Boch; villeroy-boch.com. Dotted plates Rika Salad plate, swirly plates Como Swirl Salad plate, bowl for shrimp large Mitti Glass Bowl, carafe for Bloody Mary mixes Everyday Wine Carafe—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Flatware Sawyer flatware, water glasses Duralex Picardie tumblers, wood cutlery Royal Blue Stamped Wood cutlery—World Market; worldmarket.com. Tablecloth fabric Brussels Washer Linen Blend Yarn Dye Chambray by Kaufman—Fabric.com; fabric.com. Wooden bowl with flowers Jillian Serving bowl—Ballard Designs; ballarddesigns.com. Bloody Mary glasses—Bodega Tempered Glass Tumblers, set of 12, by Bormioli Rocco—Amazon; amazon.com, search: Bormeo Rocco. Container for fans Large, Clear Glass hurricane—Target; target.com. Fabric for backdrop behind bar Biarritz Fabric in La Mer by French General for Fabricut—Jo-Ann Stores; joann.com. Vegetable chips for tray Terra Exotic Vegetable Chips—available in local grocery stores. Shrimp skewers Fireworks picks—Oriental Trading Co.; orientaltrading.com. Fans for dipped fan project White Paper fans—The House of Rice; houserice.com. White cups for chips and dip White Cup Frozen Dessert Containers—Sweet Bliss Containers; sweetblisscontainers.com. Napkins Kitchen Dish Towels, set of 12, by Keeble Outlet—Amazon; amazon.com, search: Keeble. 

10 THING TO LOVE ABOUT A CONNECTED LIFE, pages 29–37 

Family room: chairs at sofa table Madeleine Dining Chair in weathered oak, seat cushions Belgian linen in Sand, pendant lighting Barrel Shade Pendant, fabric for shade linen in Sand, sofa Belgian Roll Arm Slipcovered Corner Sectional, fabric for sofa Belgian linen in sand—Restoration hardware, rh.com. Rug at sofa table—Safavieh; safaviehhome.com. Colored stick stacking game Tetris—Jenga; jenga.com. Pencil holders—Columbine, Corte Madera, California; 415/927-8884. Trays on sofa table and on ottoman, throw on sofa, vases on mantel—West Elm; westelm.com. Coffee table/ottoman similar items available—Quatrine; quatrine.com. Blue poufs Moroccan Leather Pouf in turquoise—Serena + Lily; serenaandlily.com. Quilted yellow pillow on sofa Lasting Impressions—VHC; vhcbrands.com. Fabric for window seat cushionsSunbrella, sunbrella.com. Round table for children French Empire Extension Play table in Aged Natural, chairs Vintage Steel Play chairs, sold in sets of 2—Restoration Hardware Baby & Child; rhbabyandchild.com. Flooring rift and quarter sawn white oak with custom stain—Graf Brothers; grafbro.com. Flooring installation—Floor Trends, Port Reyes Station, California; 415/663-1412. Custom finish for fireplace, mantel, ceiling beams, wood panels—Caroline Lizarraga Decorative Painting; carolinelizarraga.com. Sofa table vintage dining table, built-in window seating and fireplace original to home, pillows on window seat, rug—homeowners' collection. Exterior: landscaping—Cal Terra Landscape Services, Petaluma, California; 707/778-7120. Chairs—Dedon; dedon.de.

Breakfast nook: dining table Saarinen Dining table with white Carrara marble top—Room & Board; roomandboard.com. Wood chairs Madeleine Side chair in weathered oak drifted—Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Blue chairs Tripp Trapp High Chairs in blue—Stokke; stokke.com/usa. Rug Andalusia Dhurrie in Feather gray and ivory—West Elm; westelm.com. Fabric for window seat cushionsSunbrella; sunbrella.com. Pillows on window seats similar items available—the Orientalist Home collection—One Kings Lane; onekingslane.com. Ceramic pitchers—Hudson Grace; hudsongracesf.com. Window seating original to home, silver bowl on table, paintings John Merchant—homeowners' collection.

COLOR: WILDFLOWER YELLOWS, pages 38–40

Color experts: Joann Kandrac and Kelly Kole, Kandrac & Kole Interior Designs, Inc., Kennesaw, Georgia; 770/514-9699; kandrac-kole.com.

Manufacturers of paint include:

Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com.

Devine Color; devinecolor.com.

Glidden; glidden.com.

Sherwin-Williams; Sherwin-williams.com.

Valspar; valspar.com.

Yellow-and-white pillow Triangle Splash pillow—luluandgeorgia.com. Yellow end table Zada End table—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Yellow framed print Hello print—Easy, Tiger; cardsforawesomepeople.com

 

SEE, GRAB, GO!, pages 44­–48

Architectural consultant: Joeb Moore, Joeb Moore & Partners, LLC, Greenwich, Connecticut; 203/769-5828; joebmoore.com.

Builder: Mike Juliano, Juliano Enterprises, Inc., Brockton, Massachusetts; 508/586-1200; julianoenterprises.com.

Hallway runner—Dash & Albert; dashandalbert.annieselke.com. Flooring in mudroom Pennsylvania Bluestone—contact local cut stone suppliers. Dog bed, canvas bags, boots, clothing, accessories—L.L. Bean, Inc.; llbean.com. Wall surfacing Nantucket beaded board with channel beading—contact local lumber suppliers. Orange backpack—Züca; zuca.com. Wood hanging rack—The Container Store; containerstore.com. Stacking cubbies Muuto—Design Within Reach; dwr.com

Well Opener, page 71

Red plate Round Red Enameled Metal charger, discontinued; similar items available—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com.

SEASIDE DOUBLE-WIDE, pages 72–77

Interior design: Frances Merrill, Reath Design, Los Angeles; 323/426-9955; reathdesign.com.

Contractor: Marty King, King Construction, Malibu, California; 310/457-7758.

Landscape design: Matthew Brown, Matthew Brown Landscape Design, Ltd., Los Angeles; 323/252-7433.

Throughout: wall paint White Dove—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com.

Entry: bench Douglas fir—through Reath Design; reathdesign.com.

Living room: coffee tableRestoration Hardware; rh.com. Sectional sofa custom, open shelves custom Douglas fir, linen Roman shade custom—through Reath Design; reathdesign.com. Pillow on right side of sofa Jal pillow—John Robshaw Textiles, johnrobshaw.com. Light blue pillow on floor Fresh American Mingled Denim—Dash & Albert; dashandalbert.annieselke.com. Other pillows—Nickey Kehoe; nickeykehoe.com.

Kitchen: light fixtures over sink—Barnlight Electric; barnlightelectric.com.

Runner—Dash and Albert; dashandalbert.annieselke.com. Bar stools—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com.

Dining room: Dining chairs—Martha's Vineyard Furniture; mvfurnitureco.com. Silver globe light—Terrain; shopterrain.com. Green console, dining tablehomeowners'collection.

Bedroom: bed custom—through Reath Design; reathdesign.com.

Rug Sweater rug—West Elm; westelm.com. Bedside lamps—Hip Haven; hiphaven.com. Bedside tables custom, gray linen drapery and shade custom—through Reath Design; reathdesign.com. Brown-and-ivory pillows Nordic Kilim wool woven pillows—Dash & Albert; dashandalbert.annieselke.com. Blanket King Ticking Stripe blanket in madder red—Brahms Mount Textiles; brahmsmount.com. Rocker—homeowners' collection.

Deck: light fixture—Barnlight Electric; barnlightelectric.com. Picnic table—Amazon; amazon.com. Rug Rope Breton Red rug—Dash & Albert; dashandalbert.annieselke.com. Tablecloth cotton-and-linen day blanket in Ocean—Brahms Mount Textiles; brahmsmount.com.

COME OUT & PLAY, pages 82–85 

Learn more about Sam's business, Raddish Kids, Los Angeles; 310/450-3462; raddishkids.com.

Exterior living area: pocket planters Wally in chocolate—Woolly Pocket; woollypocket.com. Woven outdoor furniture in living room Somerset in chocolate, fabric for pillows and cushions Tangerine by Sunbrella—Outback Company; outbackcompany.com. Fire pit from the SoCal collection—Cooke Company; cookefurniture.com. Striped pouf, chevron pillows—the Threshold collection—Target; target.com. Lanterns flanking fence opening Tempest Torch—Travis Industries; travisindustries.com. Exterior house doors—Panoramic Folding Doors; panoramicfoldingdoors.com.

Office: refinishing of table—Get Back, Inc.; getbackinc.com. Desk—World Market; worldmarket.com. Wall surfacing—Piet Hein Eek; pietheineek.nl. Consoles—Ikea; ikea-usa.com. Pendant lights, hutch—homeowners' collection. 

FOR LOVE OF THE LAKE, pages 86–92

Interior architectural designer: Todd Gildred, T. Cannon Design, New York, San Francisco, and Santa Barbara; 805/451-3150; tcannondesign.com.

Builder: RW Construction, San Francisco; 415/370-3739.

Kitchen: cabinetry Back Painted Glass Cabinetry—Ikea; ikea-usa.com. Countertops honed soapstone—Integrated Resources Group, Inc., Brisbane, California; marblecompany.com. Sink black carbon—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Metal cabinet antique medicine cabinet—Big Daddy's Antiques, bdantiques.com. Lighting 20th C. Factory Filament Metal Sconce—Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Backsplash tile silver leaf glass tile—Ann Sacks, annsacks.com. Butcher block—Wood Welded; butcherblock.com.

Living room: slipcovers for sofas—Macy's; macy.com. Rug Beni Ourain Plush Shag New Zealand Rug—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Coffee table Andrew Martin Coffee table, throw Tan Chevron throw—HD Buttercup; hdbuttercup.com.

Bedroom: dresser Whitewashed dresser—HD Buttercup; hdbuttercup.com. Curtains linen and horse hair—De Sousa Hughes; desousahughes.com. Drapery rods Iron Curtain Rods, rug—World Market; worldmarket.com. Pillow Ombre Throw pillow in turquoise—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com.

Bathroom: door reproduction of the original barn-style door, vanity custom—Rocky Walling, RW Construction, San Francisco; 415/370-3739. Wall paint Prismatic Springs Kelly KM5044—Kelly Moore Paints; kellymoore.com. Cabinet hardware Turquoise Geode pulls—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Sink porcelain, cross-handle faucets—Bed Bath and Beyond; bedbathandbeyond.com. Mirror—Homeowners' collection. 

I Did It!

Table paint Grass Cloth 400D-5, and paint for plant hanger Balmy Seas 490C-3, stain for sectional Terra Cotta SC118, all three Behr Premium Plus Paints, tile for do-it-yourself coasters, wood panels, tie plates—Home Depot USA; homedepot.com. Rug, lantern, red chevron pillows—Target; target.com. Garden stool—Sam's Club; samsclub.com. Fabrics for seat cushion and all other pillows—Online Fabric Store, onlinefabricstore.net. Yellow hanging planters Socker, umbrella similar items available—Ikea; ikea-usa.com

Now & Later

Event designer: Matthew Robbins, Matthew Robbins Design, New York City; 212/253-2737; matthewrobbinsdesign.com

Comments

Be the first to comment!


All Topics in Resources


Better Homes & Gardens may receive compensation when you click through and purchase from links contained on this website.