August 2016

Pin
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Share your take on this idea!
Upload your photo here.
CLOSE

COLOR PEACH AND MINT, pages 25-26

Art Shapes on Shapes Print, bowls Rosalie Bowls, set of 2—Lulu & Georgia; luluandgeorgia.com. Bench Shelby Rubber Wood Bedroom Bench—All Modern; allmodern.com. Pillow Pastel Feathers Decorative Throw Pillow—Etsy; etsy.com

continue reading below

IT'S THE LITTLE THINGS, pages 30-38

Homeowners: Melissa & Todd Bellaire, Austin, TX. Interior Design: Amity Worrel; 917/992­6935; www.amityworrel.com.

Landscape/outdoor design:
 Matt & Angelica Norton, 
Open Envelope Studio, 4807 Santa Anna St., Austin, TX 78721; 512/293­-6972 (Angelica); www.openenvelopestudio.com.

Builder: 
David Weekley Homes; Austin, TX 78723.  

Dining Room: dining table restored vintage—Uptown Modern; uptownmodernaustin.com. Chairs Eames Molded Plastic Dowel-Rod Side Chair—Design Within Reach; dwr.com. Light fixture George Nelson Bubble Lamp in Criss Cross Saucer—Hive Modern; hivemodern.com.

Living Room: door color Anchor Gray 2126-30—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Wall color Fog 517-3—Pittsburgh Paints; ppgpittsburghpaints.com. Nesting tables restored vintage—Uptown Modern; uptownmodernaustin.com. Curved lamp Midcentury Task, white lamp Stephen Antonson Nautilus—West Elm; westelm.com. Gold tray, aqua tray Threshold Decorative Tray with Cane Detail in Mint—Target; target.com. Sofa Landskrona Sofa and Chaise—IKEA; ikea.com. Rug Zambia by Stanton Carpet—CDC Carpets; cdccarpets.com. Blue rocker Eames Molded Plastic Rocker—Design Within Reach; dwr.com. Armchair (similar styles available), credenza Grove Media Cabinet in Walnut—Room & Board; roomandboard.com. Bookends Pair of Owls by Jonathan Adler— Amara; Buy Now. Deer—Mockingbird Domestics; mockingbirddomestics.com. Coffee table Bend Drum/Stool/Table/Ottoman—Nannie Inez; nannieinez.com.

Exterior: orange sofa and chair Emmet Sofa and Rocker in orange—Room & Board; roomandboard.com.

Side yard: Acapulco outdoor lounge chair similar colors available, pillows similar styles available—CB2; Buy Now. Garden stool similar styles available—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Watercolor pillow Purple Lotus by Bunglo, pillow in portrait Ganges—Mockingbird Domestics; mockingbirddomestics.com. Dining table and chairs Falster in Grey—IKEA; ikea.com.

Bedroom: wall color Icing on the Cake 2049-70—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Bedside table Midcentury Nightstand in Acorn—West Elm; westelm.com. Lamp Rex Grey Desk—Crate & Barrel; Buy Now. Coverlet Hippie Blanket imported by Maharaja Me; maharajame.com—Hotel San Jose Shop; hotelsanjoseshop.com. Art Kelly Eoff—Etsy; three33.etsy.com. Watercolor pillows Bunglo—Mockingbird Domestics; mockingbirddomestics.com. Rug Nuloom Indoor Outdoor Flatweave Greek Key—Target; Buy Now.

Stairs: chest restored vintage—Uptown Modern; uptownmodernaustin.com. Rug Nuloom Indoor Outdoor Flatweave Greek Key—Target; Buy Now. Pouf Moroccan—Etsy.

GONE TO THE DOGS, page 44

Kitty lounger Cat Lounger by Peach Pet Provisions—The Grommet;thegrommet.comTeepee Striped Dog Teepee—Pipolli; pipolli.comToy storage Classic Toy Bin—Harry Barker; Buy NowBowls "Gulp" + "Woof", set of 2—Magenta; magenta-inc.comWamp Trimaran Stripe Platinum/Ivory—Fresh American; freshamerican.annieselke.comCat bed—Etsy;agnesfelt.etsy.comBed Woven Dot Snuggler—Waggo; waggo.com

I DID IT! pages 46-48

Spray paint for appliances Krylon Original Chrome, cooktop knobs Uxcell Plastic Cooker Gas Stove Rotary Knobs 8 mm Dia Hole—Walmart; Buy Now. Paint for cabinet Champlain, paint for backsplash Laurentien—Fusion Mineral Paint; fusionmineralpaint.com. Cabinet hardware used as appliance handles—IKEA; ikea.com. Granite-look self-adhesive laminate Duck Brand Peel and Stick Laminate—Walmart; walmart.com. Self-adhesive epoxy tiles Room Mates Peel & Stick—Wayfair.com; wayfair.com

AMERICAN FAMILY ROOM, pages 52-61

Black leather recliner Spencer—West Elm; westelm.com. Velvet sectional Sven in Pacific Blue—Article; article.com. White sectional Jackson in Sand—Apt2b; apt2b.com. Gray sectional Hughes in Taylor Felt Gray—Joybird; joybird.com. Side table Sloan Concrete—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Television KS9800—Samsung; samsung.com. Remote—Ray; ray.com.

TEACHABLE MOMENTS, pages 62-64

Wall color Gray Owl 2137-60, trim color Simply White 2143-70—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Runner Autumn Stripe Woven Cotton—Dash & Albert; dashandalbert.annieselke.com. Cabinet paint Cabinet Coat—Insl-X; insl-x.com. Apron sink Domsjo, wall shelf in breakfast room Gamleby—IKEA; ikea.com. Faucet Lindley Single-Handle Pull-Down Sprayer in Spot Resist Stainless with Soap Dispenser—Moen; moen.com. Legs for island Grand Harvest Island Post in Knotty Pine, cabinet knobs Franklin Brass P29526K-SN-B Geary in Satin Nickel--Hayneedle; Buy Now. Drawer pulls Franklin Brass P29617K-SN-B Francisco in Satin Nickel—Amazon; Buy Now. Dishwasher EW24ID80QS— Electrolux; Buy Now; range EW30GS65GS, refrigerator EI28BS80KS—Electrolux; electroluxappliances.com. Subway tile Classique Porcelain in White by Mulia Tile—Wayfair; Buy Now; light fixture (similar) Timarron 3 Light Kitchen Island Pendant—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Backsplash tile above range SomerTile Marrah Lantern Glossy White Porcelain Mosaic Floor and Wall Tile—Overstock; overstock.com

PLAY HARD, WORK SMART, pages 69-72

Living Room: paint color Repose Gray 7015—Sherwin-Williams; sherwin-williams.com. Sectional Ektorp, bookcases Billy—IKEA; ikea.com.

Joint Office: builder Juliano Enterprises; 508/586-1200. Desktop Ikea Wood Counters, chairs Vilmar—IKEA; ikea.com. Lamp—Setting the Space; settingthespace.com. Rug—Dash & Albert; dashandalbert.com

THE DIRT, page 74

Great blue lobelia—Prairie Nursery; prairienursery.com

HOSTAS VS. SLUGS, pages 80-82

Hosta 'Humpback Whaler', Hosta plantaginea—White Flower Farm; whiteflowerfarm.com. Hosta 'Gold Drop', 'Big Mama'—Plant Delights Nursery, Inc.; plantdelights.com. Hosta 'Majesty'—The Hosta Farm; thehostafarm.com. Hosta 'Subcrocea'—NH Hostas; nhhostas.com. Cacti, succulents—Cactus Store; cactusstore.com.

PRESS PLAY, pages 114-117

Interior Design—Lisa Hershman, Abaca Interiors, 4 Cedar Lane Sands Point, NY 11050; 516/398-5643; hello@abacainteriors.comabacainteriors.com

Living Room: paint color Snow White OC-66—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Rug Haveli in Sapphire—Madeline Weinrib, madelineweinrib.com. Coffee table Teak root cocktail—Soleil Furniture; soleilfurniture.com. Mirror Big Sur Mirror—Roost; roostco.com. Vase no longer available—Gold Leaf Design Group; goldleafdesigngroup.com. Sofa Vela in Sunbrella canvas white, console Etagere slim media—Room & Board; roomandboard.com. Pillows on sofa House of Cindy; houseofcindy.com. Painting Giovanni Pasanella; contact robertsonpasanella@gmail.com.

Dining Room: table Boerum in Natural—West Elm; westelm.com. Chairs Willa—Crate & Barrel; Buy Now. Pendants Laika Medium Plus—Bludot; bludot.com.

Sun Room: blue glider Retro Squares in Aquatic—Grandin Road; grandinroad.com. Rattan end table Matta Stool—Roost; roostco.com. Pouf Frontier in Yellow—Surya; surya.com. Rocking chair (similar) Outback II CB2; Buy Now; rugs Aelfie Striped—CB2; cb2.com. Teepee The Teepee Guy—Etsy; theteepeeguy.etsy.com. Blanket on chair (similar) Covet and Lou; covetandlou.com. Polka dot pillow, Love Pillow in tent—Etsy; NestaHome.etsy.com. Pillows on blue glider—House of Cindy; houseofcindy.com.  

Play Area: paint color Snow White OC-66, matte—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Table Stockholm Nesting Tables, set of 2 (one shown), frames Ribba in white—IKEA; ikea.com. Metal organizer Vintage Wall Pocket—Ballard Designs; ballarddesigns.com. Wall decals—Urban Walls; urbanwalls.com. Artwork pages from An Incomplete Dictionary of Show Birds—Luke Stephenson; lukestephenson.com

SHADES OF SUMMER, pages 120-123

Proven Winners ColorChoice Shrubs; provenwinners.com for a retailer near you. 'Endless Summer' series; endlesssummerblooms.com for a retailer near you. Forever & Ever Plants; foreverandeverplants.com for a retailer near you. 'Red Sensation'; starrosesandplants.com for a retailer near you.

INSIDE OUT, pages 132-135

Main porch: bamboo chair Eloise Rattan Armchair in Nutmeg/Ivory, sofa Outdoor Chatham 72" Day Bed in Navy, table Port Providence Cocktail, pouf Bodega Seagrass-Blend in Navy/Beige, upholstered chair Troy Barrel in Indigo/Multi, pillow on bamboo chair Lumbar Chevron 20x16 pillow in Soft Peach, pillows on sofa Westcott 20x20 Pillow in Aqua, Softfest 20x20 Pillow in Pink/Blue, Racing Stripe 14x28 in Aqua, throw Triangle & Dot Beach Blanket in Turquoise, pillow on blue chair Kilim 20x20 Cotton, rug 8'6"x11'6" Bleached Bristol Jute, vase on table Shibori Ceramic Large, silver tray Marina Rectangular, basket to left of sofa French Country Log, basket to right of sofa Provence Kindling—One King's Lane; onekingslane.com.

Tablescape: table and chairs homeowners, tablecloth Bali Stripe Beach Blanket in Navy, vase Ceramic Glazed Pitcher—One King's Lane; onekingslane.com.

Dresser: mirror Quatrefoil Rope in Natural, lamp St. Barts Recycled Glass, vase Medium Provence Ceramic Cachepot, tray 20" Bone Inlay Serving Tray in Blue, ice bucket Plantation Wine Cooler, lanterns 15" Classic Mogador Lantern in Nickel, barware set 5-piece Fluted Bone, napkin rings S/4 Zig Zag, plates S/4 Melamine Dinner Set in Black/White—One King's Lane; onekingslane.com.

Side porch: fabric for sofa Spectrum Indigo—Sunbrella; sunbrella.com. Pillows on sofa Liberty 22x22 in Indigo, Geometric Outdoor 20x20 in Orange, chairs Eloise Rattan Armchair in Nutmeg/Ivory, pouf Bodega Seagrass-Blend in Navy/Beige, pillows on chairs Kilim 18x18 Cotton in Blue, Bahari 16x16 Outdoor in Coral, rug 6x9 Bleached Bristol Jute, mirror Jute Rope in Whitewash, blankets in basket Bali Stripe Beach in Navy, Bali Stripe Beach in Aqua, Milta Stripe in Light Blue, basket Provence Kindling, lantern 15" Classic Mogador Lantern in Nickel, vase on pouf Medium Shibori Ceramic Vase—One King's Lane; onekingslane.com

A SECOND LOOK, pages N2-N8

Dining Room: blue and white bowl, pitcher, yellow vases—Target; target.com. Planter, yellow vase, pillows —IKEA; ikea.com. Table Lippa—LexMod; Buy NowChairs Lyle Side—Crate & Barrel; Buy Now. Banquette Coventry Storage Bench—Ballard Designs; Buy Now. Sconces Rustic Glass—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Rug—Great Rug Company; greatrugco.com.

Kitchen: lower cabinet color Philipsburg Blue HC-159, upper cabinet color Linen White 912—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Tile Cayenne Orange—Architerra Studios; architerrashowroom.com. Pendants Classic Metal Bell—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Cabinet hardware—BMC; buildwithbmc.com. White colander, basket, pitcher, glasses, herb planters, cutting boards, soap pump, soap dish—IKEA; ikea.com. Wood tray—Target; target.com. "W" Printer's Letter Stand—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com

NOOKS AND CRANNIES, pages Z2-Z8

Architect: Wagstaff Architects; 415/383-2160; wagstaffarchitects.com.

Interior Design: Zoe Pinksa, Zoe Lee Design; 415/637-0456; designbyzoelee.com.

Landscape Design: Mary Te Selle, Quite Contrary Gardens; 415/713-4227; quitecontrarygardendesign.com.

Under-Stair: drawers, cabinets, desk drawers—Holiday Kitchens; holidaykitchens.com. Hardware—Bauerware; bauerware.com. Desk custom walnut—Classic Mill and Cabinet; classicmill.com. Chair—Pier 1; pier1.com. Wallpaper Feather in Clover—Serena & Lily; serenaandlily.com.

Laundry Room: cabinet paint color Province Blue 2135-40—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Cabinetry Custom—Classic Mill & Cabinet; classicmill.com. Cabinet hardware Asbury Pull—Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Washer, dryer— Elextrolux; electrolux.com. Hamper—Container Store; containerstore.com. Sink Blancosupreme Single Bowl—Pacific Sales; pacificsales.com. Countertop 2370 Mocha—Caesarstone; caesarstoneus.com. Rug—Target; target.com.

Exterior: shingles Easter White Cedar—Maibec; maibeck.com. Paint color Humpback Whale 216, trim paint color White Dove OC-17—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com.

Bedroom: bed Belden—Pottery Barn Kids; potterybarnkids.com. Pillows, bedding Brushstroke Collection—Land of Nod; landofnod.com. Netting—IKEA; ikea.com

BHG THROWBACK, 1956 SUMMER PICNIC, page 164

Grill Portable Charcoal BBQ Suitcase in Red—Kikkerland; Buy Now. Picnic basket Market Basket Backpack—MUR Lifestyle; murlifestyle.com. Growler set Stanley Classic Vacuum Growler Set—Backcountry; Buy Now. Tablecloth Bold Gingham in True Blue—Wayfair; Buy Now. Plates Better Homes and Gardens Indigo Medallion and Teal Trellis melamine plates, set of 6—Walmart; Buy Now. Cooler Steel-Belted Cooler in Green—Coleman; coleman.com. Lantern Forest Lantern in Red—Barebones; barebonesliving.com. Flatware Camping Utensils—Cooper Hewitt Shop; shop.cooperhewitt.org

Pin
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Share your take on this idea!
Upload your photo here.
CLOSE

More Resources

close
close
close
close
close

Loading... Please wait...

Add My Photo close
I Did It!
Share on Facebook
Uh oh! Please pick a jpg at least 600x600px.
Share on Facebook
Uh oh! Your photo failed to upload. Please try again or visit your profile.
No one has shared their photo yet.
close