April 2016

Better Homes and Gardens cover 2016 April

OUTSIDE INTERESTS, pages 24–28

Interior design: Lauren Liess, Lauren Liess & Co.; Washington, D.C.; 571/926-7825; laurenliess.com.

Living room: wall color Lancaster Whitewash HC-174, trim color White Dove OC-17—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Sofa—Lauren Liess & Co.; laurenliess.com. Armchairs Verellen; verellenhc.com/home. Rush armchair Abigail—Redford House; redfordhouse.com. Bench Colonial Caning—Noir Furniture; noirfurnitureela.com. Bench upholstery Zanzibar in Indigo—Peter Dunham Textiles; peterdunhamtextiles.com. Coffee table Parsons—Bungalow 5; bungalow5.com. Square side tables, wood side table Petrified Wood—Bernhardt; bernhardt.com. Blue table lamps Gannett—Visual Comfort; shopvisualcomfortlights.com. Floor lamp Finstock—Currey & Co.; curreycodealers.com. Area rug Seagrass—The Perfect Rug; theperfectrug.com. Curtain fabric Live Paisley in Turquoise, folded fabric on tray Wild Chicory in Celadon—Lauren Liess Textiles; laurenliess.com. Star pillow fabric JP 6412 Star Atlantico in Grass—Michael S. Smith Inc.; michaelssmith.com. Green pillow fabric Ikat in Olive—Peter Dunham Textiles; peterdunhamtextiles.com. Neutral patterned pillow Tufted Ariany, dotted pillow Woolen Palm in Ivory and Chartreuse—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com

I DID IT! pages 38–40

Mechanical plastic test plugs, stainless-steel nuts, stainless-steel washers, stainless-steel threaded eyebolt, coupling nut, 8-inch-diameter clay pots—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Stainless-steel threaded rod—Global Industrial; globalindustrial.com

POT LUCK, pages 58-66

Containers: Belham Living Winfield Rectangular Planter, Border Concepts Glencoe Trellis—hayneedle.com. Strawberry Jar: similar designs can be found at hayneedle.com. Gothic terra cotta pot: similar designs can be found at campodefiori.com. Terrazza Square Planter—gardeners.com. Plants: Oregano, lemon thyme, 'Lacinato' kale, purple basil, 'Patio Baby Mini Eggplant', 'Tumbling Tom' tomato: Bonnie Plants, Purple sage, tricolor sage, variegated peppermint, curled parsley, thyme, oregano—available at local garden centers. Seeds: 'Violet-Podded' Pole Bean—territorialseeds.com. 'Sweet Savour' pepper, 'Cherry Stuffer' pepper—burpee.com. 'Lacinato' kale—seedsavers.org. 'Rainbow Mixture' Swiss chard—mvseeds.com.

WINGING IT, pages 94-99

Sources for native plants: abnativeplants.com for a retailer near you; americanmeadows.com; prairienursery.com

OFF THE BEATEN PATH, pages 106–111

Living room: floors Timberline in Lumberjack Hickory Laminate by Shaw—McCurley's National Flooring; mccurleysnationalflooring.com. Stair railing, tree post—Martin Timberworks; 209/743-8644.

Girl's bedroom: bedding Chic White—Beddy's; beddys.com.

Back entryway: door paint color Delicate Frost 6003-9A—Valspar; valsparpaint.com.

Kitchen: cabinets, table custom— Alan Bruce; 209/743-8644. Floor Timberline in Lumberjack Hickory Laminate by Shaw—McCurley's National Flooring; mccurleysnationalflooring.com. Pendants Lazy Susan Wire 5 Light Pendant—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Knobs Amerock 934—KB Hardware; kbhardware.com. Knob stain Cabot Aged Leather Oil—Lowes; lowes.com. Chairs Baxton Studio AZZO, White—Walmart; walmart.com.

Master bedroom: bed custom—Brett Gordon, Tuolumne, California. Ceiling light Trans Globe Lighting 1100 Industrial Dome Shaped Indoor Pendant—Lighting Direct; lightingdirect.com.

BHG THROWBACK, page 148

Pillow Pink Cane Cotton Canvas Throw Pillow—All Modern; allmodern.com. Throw Jacquard-Weave Throw 20-6842—H&M; hm.com. Pendant Small Rustic Wicker Pendant—Shades of Light; shadesoflight.com. Basket Lattice Floor Bin—Land of Nod; landofnod.com. Tables Rattan Diamond Collection Coffee Table and Short Accent Table—Viva Terra; vivaterra.com. Wallpaper Cane Print in Gimlet—Candice Held; candiceheld.com. Bin Cane Tulip Wastebasket—Wayfair; wayfair.com

STEP OUTSIDE, pages Z1–Z4

Interior design: Brooke Shepherdson—Elizabeth Brooke Design; brookeshepherdson@gmail.com; elizabethbrookedesign.com.

Architecture and landscape design: Eric Olsen; ericolsendesign.com; 949/887-8856.

Patio: zinc-topped table—RJ Imports; rjimportsoc.com. Chairs Alfresco Dining—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Pillows, seat cushions—Sunbrella; sunbrella.com

Living room: sofa Belgian Roll Arm, ottoman Tufted Coffee Ottoman—Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Rug sisal—Stark; starkcarpet.com. Hide—West Elm; westelm.com. Gray stripe pillows Gray Stripedot, yellow throw—Studio Bon; studiobontextiles.com. Yellow and gray pillow fabric Thom Filicia Ikat—Kravet; kravet.com. Paint color Decorator's White CC-20—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com.

Kitchen: light fixtures—Vagabond Vintage; vagabondvintage.com. Chairs—Restoration Hardware; rh.com. Bench Millhouse—Sundance; sundancecatalog.com. Refrigerator GE—Monogram; monogram.com. Range—Thermador; thermador.com.  Cabinet paint color Soot 2129-20—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Countertops 4030H Pebble—Caesarstone; caesarstoneus.com. Beams, floor—Vintage Wood Floors; vintagewoodfloors.com

EARTHLY DELIGHTS, pages N4–N12

Living room: chair Chas Seersucker—Pier 1; pier1.com. Wall paint color Sea Salt SW 6204—Sherwin-Williams; sherwin-williams.com.

Dining room: wall paint color Retreat SW 6207—Sherwin-Williams; sherwin-williams.com

Comments

Be the first to comment!


All Topics in Resources


Better Homes & Gardens may receive compensation when you click through and purchase from links contained on this website.