April 2015

For more information about a product shown in a Better Homes and Gardens story, click on a website below. Details were verified at the time of publication, but we cannot guarantee availability of items or services. If an item isn't listed, it is vintage or discontinued or its source is unknown.

Better Homes and Gardens April 2015 cover

Spring Thaw, pages 26-28 

Woven chargers—Serena and Lily; serenaandlily.com. White flatware similar items available—World Market; worldmarket.com. Blue melamine plates, hanging lantern, tall glass lantern on table—Target; target.com. Metal benches painted yellow after purchase—Overstock.com; overstock.com. Paint for benches Lemongrass spray paint by Rust-Oleum—Home Depot; homedepot.com. Dessert cups holding flower heads—Libbey Glass; libbey.com. Aqua glasses Marta—CB2; cb2.com. Drink umbrellas—Party City; partycity.com.  Fat quarters fabrics used as napkins—DuckaDilly; duckadilly.com. Pashmina used as tablecloth—Fashion Anything; fashionanything.com. Pillow fabrication—Sonja Rae Carmon, Cambridge, Iowa. Glass and ceramic lanterns from the Better Homes & Gardens® collection—Walmart; walmart.com

10 Things to Love About a Live-In Kitchen, pages 31-36

Learn more about Chelsea Shukov's business at sugarpaper.com. Interior designer: Leslie Hunt, Leslie L. Hunt Interior Design, Los Angeles; 310/471-7036; llhinteriors.comHome-automation systems—Gizmo Custom systems; gizmo-la.comBreakfast room: table—IKEA; ikea-usa.com. Chairs—Calypso St. Barth; calypsostbarth.com. Pendant light Thomas O'Brien Extra Large Hicks 2 Light Pendant—Circa Lighting; circalighting.com.

Living room: sectional sofa custom. Armchair Butterfly Chair from the John Derian collection—Cisco Home; ciscohome.net. Rug—Calypso St. Barth; calypsostbarth.com. Ottoman—Ethan Allen; ethanallen.com. Bench custom with vintage textile—homeowners' collection. Pillows and throws on sectional—through Leslie L. Hunt Interior Design, Los Angeles; 310/471-7036; llhinteriors.com

Kitchen: range, hood, refrigerator—Viking Range Corp.; 888/845-4641; vikingrange.com. Light fixture—HD Buttercup; hdbuttercup.comWall paint White Dove—Benjamin Moore; 888/236-6667; benjaminmoore.com. Notebooks—Sugar Paper; sugarpaper.com.

Look Alive!, pages 40-42

Color experts: Nancy Evars and Dimitra Anderson, Evars + Anderson Interior Design, San Francisco; 650/248-0709; evarsanderson.com.

Sources for tender green paint colors include:

Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.comColorhouse Paint; colorhousepaint.comPPG Architectural Finishes, Inc.; 800/441-9695; ppgpittsburghpaints.com. Pratt & Lambert Paints; 800/289-7728; prattandlambert.comThe Valspar Corp., available through Lowe's; lowes.com.

Design and fabrication of pillows and decorative soft goods—Evars + Anderson Interior Design; evarsanderson.com. Side tables Hollywood Nightstand—Modshop; modshop1.com. Fabric for window treatment Imperial Trellis—F. Schumacher & Co.; fschumacher.com (to the trade). Bedding—Serena and Lily, Inc.; serenaandlily.com. Green lamp Reynolds green table lamp—Bassett Furniture Industries, Inc.; bassettfurniture.com. Wallcovering Manila Hemp in Kelly Green—Phillip Jeffries, Ltd.; phillipjeffries.com. Navy pillows—available through Lotus Bleu; lotusbleudesign.com

Master Strokes, pages 104-109

Self-taught gardener and creator—Kim Visokey; gardenfreak.com.

Best Garden Ever, pages 57-60

Chair and table; Sifas Kolorado; hoffmiller.com

Coffee table and chairs; Sifas Oskar Collection; hoffmiller.com

Containers; ravennagardens.comDwarf arctic willow; naturehills.comKatsura Pieris; rarefindnursery.com. Cushion bush; anniesannuals.com. Blue Gem alpine plum yew; monrovia.com for a retailer near you. Copper Cascade heucherella; springhillnursery.com. Silver Falls dichondra, Autumnale fuchsia; provenwinners.com for a retailer near you. Torch angel wing begonia; gardenharvestsupply.com. Gartenmeister fuchsia; whiteflowerfarm.com.

Itty-Bitty Getaway, pages 66-71

Interior designer: Arlene Lord, Lord Design, Portland, Oregon; 503/974-9689; lordinteriordesign.com.

Playhouse remodel construction: BC Custom Construction, Oregon City, Oregon; 503/722-8700; bccustomconstruction.net.

Landscape design and installation: Distinctive Landscaping & Design, Inc., Canby, Oregon; 503/266-6129.

Screen doors custom—Metke Remodeling and Luxury Homes; remodelerportlandoregon.com. Exterior light fixture—Restoration Hardware; restorationhardware.com. Wall paint Shark Skin, door paint Childhood Crush—Miller paint; millerpaint.com. Trim paint Devine Icing by Devine Paint—Target; target.com. Crystal doorknobs—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Beds—Justin and Burks, Portland, Oregon; 503/234-6414. Green dresser—Stars Antiques Mall; starsantique.com. Blankets, floral pillows—Filling Spaces; fillingspaces.com. Black light fixtures—Lamps Plus; lampsplus.com. Chandelier Treetop—Currey and Co.; curreycodealers.com. Green swirl, chicken, and rabbit pillows—CB2; cb2.com. Owl pillows—Alberta Street Owls; albertastreetowls.com. Rug—Sofa Table Chair; sofatablechair.com. Decking—TimberTech; timbertech.com

Ready, Set, Clean!, pages 74-78

Cleaning professionals interviewed:

Aby Garvy; simplify101.com. Becky Rapinchuk; cleanmama.net. Leslie Reichert; greencleaningcoach.com. Mary Findley; marymoppins.com. Blue bucket—The Lucky Clover Trading Co.; luckyclovertrading.com. Dustpan, dusting brush—Brook Farm General Store; brookfarmgeneralstore.com. Broom—Nessentials; nessentials.com. Beeswax-base wood cleaner Williamsville Wax—H.F. Staples; hfstaples.com. Furniture gliders—Amazon; amazon.com, search: furniture gliders. Large-size baking soda for cleaning—Arm & Hammer; armandhammer.com. Dusting wand—Amazon; amazon.com, search: E-cloth dusting wand. 

In Good Supply, page 80

Clear bins, cleaning caddy—Target; target.com. White plastic bins—IKEA; ikea-usa.com. Woven basket, basket holding vacuum attachments—The Container Store; containerstore.com. Ironing board cover—West Elm; westelm.com. Ironing board—Bernina; bernina.com.

Household Helpers, page 86

Dryer fabric softener All Free and Clear Dryer Sheets—Amazon; amazon.com. Floor cleaner Pledge FloorCare Multi Surface Concentrated Cleaner—Home Depot USA, Inc.; homedepot.com. Laundry stain remover Clorox Smart Seek Bleach, convenience cleaning Clorox Disinfecting Wipes, Tub & Shower—Walmart; walmart.com. Dishwasher detergent Finish Powerball Power & Free Tablets—Finish; finishdishwashing.com. Liquid laundry detergent Arm & Hammer Plus Oxiclean Ultra Power—Arm & Hammer; armandhammer.com. Dish soap Dawn Hand Renewal with Olay Beauty—Dawn; dawn-dish.com

Making Connections, pages 92-99

Architect—Rehkamp-Larson Architects, Inc., Minneapolis; 612/285-7275; rehkamplarson.comInterior designer—Alecia Stevens, Alecia Stevens Interiors, Minneapolis; 612/827-7447; aleciastevens.comBuilder—Reuter Walton Construction, Minneapolis; 612/823-3489; reuterwalton.comLandscape architect—Ron Beining Associates, Minneapolis; 612/418-0772; rbalandscape.com

Sunporch: chair at French doors Eames Chair—Room & Board; roomandboard.com. Sofa—Cisco Brothers; ciscobrothers.com. Ottoman—Lee Industries; leeindustries.com. Rug—Aubry Angelo; aubryangelo.com. Light wood frame chair—Design Within Reach; dwr.com. Pillows—Wisteria; wisteria.com

Living room: wall treatment plaster—Otto Painting & Design; ottopaintingdesign.com. Vases in cabinet—The Object Enthusiast; theobjectenthusiast.com. Coffee table custom design—Alecia Stevens Interiors; aleciastevens.com. Rug—Aubry Angelo; aubryangelo.com. Chairs—Oly; olystudio.com (to the trade). Ceiling light Artic Pear—Ochre; ochre.net

Kitchen: barstools from the Andy collection by Paul James—available through Grand Rapids Chair; grandrapidschair.com. Cabinet paint Silver Song—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Backsplash tile—Rubble Tile; rubbletile.com. Pendant light—Lightworks; lightworkslighting.com. Rug—John Robshaw; johnrobshaw.com

Outdoor porch: lights CL13 M/N Star light—Vaughan Designs; vaughandesigns.com. Chairs—Wisteria; wisteria.comOffice: floor runner—Mille; shopmille.com. Chair—Design Within Reach; dwr.com. Desk light—Target; target.com

Screen porch: pouf—Serena and Lily, Inc.; serenaandlily.com. Chairs—Historic Studio; historicstudio.com

Pasta's New Day, pages 110-114 

Handmade textured serving plates, assorted; High Street Pottery; highstreetpotterydsm.com.

I Did It!, page 170

Outdoor dining chairs Sabrina—Room & Board; roomandboard.com. Multicolor striped melamine dinnerware from the Grass collection—French Bull; frenchbull.com

Great Escape, pages Z2-Z4

Architect: Eddie Maestri, AIA, Maestri, LLC, Dallas; 214/ 823-1001; designwhereyoulive.com.

Contractor: Herman Darden, LLC, Dallas; 214/766-9670; hermandarden.com.

Landscape designer: Christa McCall, Paper Kites Studio, Dallas; 314/795-0758; paperkites-studio.com.

Front exterior: exterior wall paint Alabaster SW7008—The Sherwin-Williams Co.; sherwin-williams.com. Doors—Ricca's Architectural Demolishing Corp.; riccasarchitectural.com. Red planters—Jackson's Home and Garden; jacksonshg.com. Plant material—Ruibal's Plants of Texas; ruibals.com.

Porch: daybed, curtains, side table—West Elm; westelm.com. Wood folding chair—IKEA; ikea-usa.com.         

Planters—Jackson's Home and Garden; jacksonshg.com. Hanging lamp—Bevolo; bevolo.com. Wire chairs—Iron Accents, Inc.; ironaccents.comJute rug—World Market; worldmarket.com. Blue rug, striped pillows on daybed—Serena and Lily; serenaandlily.com. Pillows on chairs—Wisteria; wisteria.com

Who Needs Walls?, pages N2-N8

Interior designer—M.L. Stockwell, M.L. Stockwell Interiors; Newport Beach, California, and Jacksonville, Oregon; 714/325-4403.

General contractor—Kane Cassidy, Olive Tree Construction, Inc., Newport Beach, California; 949/378-8456; ocolivetreeconstruction.com.

Garden designer—Molly Wood, Molly Wood Garden Design, Costa Mesa, California; 949/548-1611; mollywoodgardendesign.com.

Kitchen: range, range hood—Miele, Inc.; 800/843-723; mieleusa.com. Cabinet hardware—Restoration Hardware; restorationhardware.com. Clear glass canisters—Bed Bath & Beyond; bedbathandbeyond.com. Metal trough on island counter—Molly Wood Garden Design; mollywoodgardendesign.com. Runner—Zinc Café and Market; zinccafe.com. Toaster—Dualit; dualit.com.

Dining room: dining table—Kim 3 International Furnishings; kim3.com. Lighting—Vaughan Lighting; vaughandesigns.com. Bifold door to exterior—NanaWall; nanawall.com. Succulent plants—Molly Wood Garden Design; mollywoodgardendesign.com.

Patio: table, chairs—West Elm; westelm.com. Cushion fabrics—Perennials Outdoor Fabrics; perennialsfabrics.com. Bluestone paving, hanging lanterns, all vases and containers, chairs at fireplace, side table—Molly Wood Garden Design; 494/548-1611; mollywoodgardendesign.com.

Comments

Be the first to comment!



Better Homes & Gardens may receive compensation when you click through and purchase from links contained on this website.