Vegetable Stew with Cornmeal Dumplings

The hint of Parmesan cheese in the cornmeal dumplings makes them a fine match for this Italian-seasoned stew recipe.

Pin
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.

Reviews (0)

3.5 by 51 people

Rate This!

  • Makes: 6 servings
  • Prep: 25 mins
  • Cook: 8 hrs to 10 hrs (low) or 4-5 hours (high) plus 50 minutes

Vegetable Stew with Cornmeal Dumplings

Directions

  1. In a 3-1/2- or 4-quart slow cooker, combine squash, mushrooms, undrained tomatoes, Great Northern beans, the water, garlic, Italian seasoning, and pepper.
  2. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 8 to 10 hours or on high-heat setting for 4 to 5 hours.

For dumplings:

  1. In a medium bowl, stir together flour, cornmeal, Parmesan cheese, parsley, baking powder, and salt. In a small bowl, whisk together egg, milk, and oil. Add to the flour mixture; stir with a fork just until combined.
  2. If using low-heat setting, turn to high-heat setting. Stir frozen green beans into stew. Drop the dumpling dough into six mounds on top of the stew. Sprinkle with paprika. Cover and cook for 50 minutes more. (Do not lift lid while dumplings are cooking.) Makes 6 servings.
Pin
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.

Nutrition Facts (Vegetable Stew with Cornmeal Dumplings)

  • Per serving:
  • 288 kcal ,
  • 7 g fat
  • (2 g sat. fat ,
  • 37 mg chol. ,
  • 442 mg sodium ,
  • 45 g carb. ,
  • 7 g fiber ,
  • 12 g pro.
rate this recipe!
add review

Reviews (3)

51 Ratings
783 Days Ago
This is incorrect. A vegetarian will eat cheese just NOT cheese made with animal rennet. Animal rennet comes from the stomach lining of animals. The animal must be dead to get the lining. Vegetarians eat foods produced by living animals, not dead ones. Therefore, if the Parmesan cheese being used contains animal rennet then it is not a vegetarian dish. However, if you use Parmesan that is made with vegetable or microbial rennet then it is vegetarian.
997 Days Ago
some Parmesan is vegetarian and some isn't. You have to look for an ingredient called rennet - if it's in there, it's not vegetarian - it comes from a cow's stomach lining. If it's microbial rennet however, that is vegetarian. making this recipe right now...i'll let you know how it is!
1545 Days Ago
WARNING: parmesan is NOT vegetarian. With the parm in there, this dish should not be on this list. Leave it out, and all is well.

Similar Recipes

close
close
close
close
close

Loading... Please wait...

Add My Photo close
Uh oh! Unexpected error. Please try later.
Rate & Review
Uh oh! Please pick a jpg at least 600x600px
Add My Photo

Your Rating

Your Review

4000 Characters Remaining
Uh oh! Unexpected error. Please try later.
Uh oh! Please pick a jpg at least 600x600px
Change Photo

Your Rating

Your Review

4000 Characters Remaining
Uh oh! Unexpected error. Please try later.

Your Rating

Your Review

4000 Characters Remaining
No one has shared their photo yet.
close