November 2015

For more information about a product shown in a Better Homes and Gardens story, click on a website below. Details were verified at the time of publication, but we cannot guarantee availability of items or services. If an item isn't listed, it is vintage or discontinued or its source is unknown. Look for the Buy Now link. These select products are available for purchase through ShopBHG.

Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Share your take on this idea!
Upload your photo here.
CLOSE

BUTTER UP, pages 28-30

For more recipes and information on Elizabeth McBath's company, Banner Butter, visit the website; bannerbutter.com.

Turquoise bowl with dahlias Ceramic Bowl-Planter—CB2; cb2.com. Clear stackable glasses—A + R Store; aplusrstore.com. White drink muddler Color Block Muddler—Sucre Shop; sucreshop.com

continue reading below

HOSTING THE HOLIDAY, pages 33-38

Visit Carrie Morey's company website, Callie's Charleston Biscuits; calliesbiscuits.com.

Interior design: Quincy Forester, Quincy Forester Interior Design, Charleston, South Carolina; 843/452-3800. 

General contracting: Kirk Wood, K. C. Wood Custom Homes, LLC., Mount Pleasant, South Carolina; 843/849-1250.

Living room: vintage turquoise leather chairs, sofa table, cocktail table, rugs—through Quincy Forester Interior Design, Charleston, South Carolina; quincyforester.comSofa, large turquoise pillow on sofa Vintage Wool Oushak CPAOP2424, vase on cocktail table Tourmaline Ruffle 056-3-31021, floor lamp at turquoise chair Le Chic in polished nickel 066-55-7389, pillows on chairs Mewar silk pillow JRODP-MEW-20, painting at white chairs "White Out" oil on canvas 0113-960312-GSG-40060, side table at white chairs Addison GABSCH-250020—GDC Home, Charleston, South Carolina; gdchome.com. Red patterned pillows on sofa, throw on sofa Cynthia Rowley—T.J. Maxx; tjmaxx.com (product line varies). Fireplace screen Gothic Arch Three Panel fireplace screen 574379—Lowe's; lowes.com. Ceiling globe light similar items available—Ballard Designs; buy now (product line varies). Potted plant Fiddle-Leaf Fig—Abide-A-While Nursery & Garden Center, Inc., Mount Pleasant, South Carolina; abideawhilegardencenter.com. White chairs at staircase—through Morris Sokol Furniture, Charleston; 843/722-3874. Throw on chair Lace throw 32690414—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Floor lamp—Gilt; gilt.com. Red mirror on landing—through Nadeau, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina; furniturewithasoul.com. Silver vases on sofa table, books on sofa table shelf, mirror at mantel, oyster shell sconces—homeowners' collection.

Kitchen: countertops Carrera marble—contact local cut stone retailers. Range—Wolf Appliance, Inc.; wolfappliances.com. Refrigerator D3—Viking Range Corp.; vikingrange.com. Dishwasher—Bosch; bosch-home.com/us. Island bar stools Carlisle Metal bar stools in yellow, sold in set of two—Target Stores; buy  now (product line varies). Basket on far left of lower island shelf Aimee Arrow basket—World Market; worldmarket.com. Large round basket, next left Large Hyacinth basket, next basket, left behind yellow stool Round Hamper Seagrass basket, aquamarine bottles used as vases on shelves—GDC Home, Charleston, South Carolina; gdchome.com. Largest striped basket at island large Basket Hamper in silver and yellow 2793-0135, last basket on shelf medium Basket Hamper in silver and yellow 2793-0136—Celadon Home Furnishings & Accessories, Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina; celadonathome.com. Pitcher on shelf Lise serveware—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Potts with cyclamen on shelves—Abide-A-While Nursery & Garden Center, Inc., Mount Pleasant, South Carolina; abideawhilegardencenter.com. Rug—through Quincy Forester Interior Design, Charleston, South Carolina; quincyforester.com. Pendant lighting—Barn Light Electric Co.; barnlightelectric.com. Two yellow cast-iron braisers—Le Creuset of America; lecreuset.com. Quiche dish on island—Williams-Sonoma; williams-sonoma.com. Pie plate on island—JC Penney; jcpenney.com. Aquamarine glasses on shelves, serving pieces—homeowners' collection.

Dining room: table, four chairs with rush seats—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com (product line varies). Chairs with upholstered seats, roller window shades—through Quincy Forester Interior Design, Charleston, South Carolina; quincyforester.com. Light fixture—Jayson Home & Garden; jaysonhome.com. Table runner in washed linen—Williams-Sonoma; williams-sonoma.com. Magnolia wreath, china, napkins, silverware, etched wine glasses, gold-rimmed glasses, silver mint julep cups, serving pieces—homeowners' collection. 

EASY GREENS: pages 42-45

Color experts—Darsi Floersch and Kim Tucker, Martha O'Hara Interiors, Minneapolis; oharainteriors.com.

Featured paints, top to bottom: gray Iced Marble—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Dark gray-green Duck Egg Blue—Annie Sloan Chalk Paint; anniesloan.com. Lightest green Sagey SW6175—The Sherwin-Williams Co.; sherwin-williams.com. Light green Herbal Mist 440E-2—Behr Process Corp.; behr.com. Bright dark green Garden of Paradise 6002-4B—The Valspar Corp.; valspar.com.

"Add Some Zing" paints, left: wall paint Green Tea Leaves 5004-1C—The Valspar Corp.; valspar.com. Trim paint White Dove, accent paints Razzle Dazzle and Black Satin—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com.

"Preppy Fun" paints, right: wall paint Iced Marble, dark blue accent paint Hale Navy—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Furnishings paint Wedding Cake V151, bright green accent paint Lonesome Vale VR020A—The Valspar Corp.; valspar.com.

SLEEP OVER, pages 50-53

Plug-in dimmer—Amazon; amazon.com, search: Lutron dimmer. Wall paint Mariner #SW6766—The Sherwin-Williams Co.; sherwin-williams.com. Side table, lamp, rug—Shades of Light; shadesoflight.com. Headboard, blue bench—Target Stores; target.com. Bedding—West Elm; westelm.com. Curtains, pillow shams, velvet ombré pillow—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Throw—John Robshaw Textiles; johnrobshaw.com. Cream-and-blue pillow on chair, pink floral pillow on bed, artwork—Surya; surya.com. Framed photograph—Karla Conrad, Des Moines; karlaconrad.com. Flooring Mannington Laminate in Historic Ash—Mannington Mills, Inc.; mannington.com.

SWEET SPOT, pages 54-56

Glass canisters on counter from the Montana collection by Anchor Hocking—Target Stores; target.com (product line varies). Turntable on bottom shelf of upper cabinet Linus Platform Turntable, two clear plastic drawer organizers Linus 4-Section Trays, purchased individually—The Container Store; containerstore.com. Wicker basket Tall Narrow Wicker Tote—The Basket Lady; basketlady.com. White plastic lids on glass jars—Intelligent Lids; info@intelligentlids.com; intelligentlids.com

CROWD SOURCING, pages 59-64

Copper tape—Spark Fun; sparckfun.com. Cotton dish towels Herringbone—Amazon; amazon.com, search: Medline Herringbone. White folding chairs Mälarö—IKEA; ikea-usa.com. Metal stools Tabouret, sold in set of two—Overstock.com; 800/843-2446; buy now. Curvy chairs Bentwood Chairs in Natural, sold in set of two, bench Bankston Dining bench from the Better Homes and Gardens® collection, scalloped white plate 10½-inch Scalloped Dinner Plates from the Better Homes and Gardens® collection—WalMart; walmart.com. Natural folding chairs Winsom, sold in set of four—Target Stores; buy now (product line varies). Rounded, stacked glasses Stackable DOF glasses, sold in set of four—World Market; worldmarket.com. Double old-fashioned glasses Thick Sham, sold in set of six, white plate Porcelain Round Coupe—Christmas Tree Shops; christmastreeshops.com. Ribbed glasses Textured Glass tumblers, sold in set of 12—Target Stores; target.com (product line varies). Carafe and decanter Sagaform—Bed Bath & Beyond; bedbathandbeyond.com (product line varies). White plastic plate with gold rim Cream-and-Gold Slit Dinner plates—Factory Direct Party; factorydirectparty.com. Wood candleholders sold in sets of two in small, medium or large—Everyday Occasions; everyday-occasions.myshopify.com. Handblown glass candleholders from the Numi collection—CB2; cb2.com. Tapered candles, sold in set of 12—Candles 4 Less; candles4less.com

LATE ADDITIONS, pages 77-82

Pot Containers—Detroit Garden Works; detroitgardenworks.com

TRIPLE PLAY, pages 84-86

Architecture and construction: Todd A. Rabidoux, AIA, architect, Dustin Melzark, project manager, Lakeside Development Co., 1500 W. Market St., Mequon, WI 53092; lakesidedevelopment.com.

Interior design: Lauren Liess, Lauren Liess & Co.; Washington, DClaurenliess.com.

Kitchen and bath design: Janice Pattee, CKD, CMG, Janice Pattee Design, Indianapolisjanicepatteedesign.com.

Windows Designer Series Aluminum Clad Wood, side door Smooth Grain Fiberglass, Cottage Style, window shades Between-the-Glass Cellular Fabric Shades with Insynctive technology—Pella; pella.com. Cabinetry Austere door style in Benjamin Moore White Dove PM-19 with Walnut shelves, table, and accents, interior accessories by Haefele—Plain & Fancy; plainfancycabinetry.com. Countertop, tabletop Fieldstone quartz-surfacing—Cambria; cambriausa.com. Washer WM4270, dryer DLHX4072, pedestal drawers WDP4V—LG; lg.com. Sink Whitehaven, faucet Simplice—Kohler; kohler.com. Cabinet hardware Northport in Satin Nickel—Schaub and Co.; schaubandcompany.com. Flooring Reclamation porcelain stone in Tobacco Road—Crossville; crossvillein.com. Side chairs Willa in Peacock—Crate and Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Art, mason jars, blue/tan baskets above lockers—HomeGoods; homegoods.com. Metal caddy, basket, two-tier stand, ceramic pots, bins, rug—Target; target.com. Fabric baskets—H&M; hm.com. Vintage wood caddy, terra-cotta pots—Clinton Street Antiques; clintonstreetantiques.com. Wall clock—Home Decorators Collection; homedecorators.com. Glass jars and baskets on craft shelves—The Container Store; containerstore.com. Ceramic tags on baskets—Ballard Designs; ballarddesigns.com. Task lamp—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. White picture frames—Bed Bath & Beyond; bedbathandbeyond.com. Wall color Samovar Silver SW6233, trim color Pearly White SW7009—Sherwin-Williams; sherwin-williams.com. Side door color Down Pour Blue 2063-20—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Side and garage door hardware Century in Satin Nickel with Schlage Connect Smart Lock—Schlage; schlage.com.

TURNING OVER A NEW LEAF, pages 92-97

Visit the Paul Lowe's website, Sweet Paul; sweetpaulmag.com

LITTLE TOWN BIG THANKS, pages 106-112

Linens: Pom Pom At Home; info@pompomathome.comBaskets: Swamp Road Baskets; Jamin Uticone – Basketmaker; swamproadbaskets@gmail.com.

GO WITH THE FLOW, pages Z2-Z4

Interior design: Regina Garcia, Regina Garcia Design, Charleston, South Carolina; reginagarciadesign.com.

General contracting: ALKA Construction, Mount Pleasant, South Carolina; 843/881-6142.

Kitchen: cabinetry, island dining countertop Iroko with natural oil finish and walnut legs with stainless-steel spheres—custom designs, Regina Garcia Design, Charleston, South Carolina; reginagarciadesign.com. Cabinet hardware from the Nouveau collection in polished chrome—Top Knobs USA, Inc.; opknobsusa.com. Working countertops Arabascatta marble—contact local cut stone retailers. Island pendant lights Solitaire by Jeremy Pyles in clear hand-blown glass—Niche Modern; nichemodern.com. Barstools Mann Memory Swivel—Jessica Charles, Hickory, North Carolina; jessicacharles.com. Fabric for barstools Gogo in Envy—Robert Allen; robertallendesign.com (to the trade). Cooktop, hood, ovens—Wolf Appliance, Inc.; wolfappliances.com. Sink—Porcher; porcher-us.com. Faucet Talis in polished chrome—Hansgrohe; hansgrohe-usa.com. Backsplash tile Multi-colored Rain-Cut marble—Contact local tile retailers. Pot with plant—Abide-A-While Nursery & Garden Center, Inc., Mount Pleasant, South Carolina; abideawhilegardencenter.com. Pitcher in narrow shelving 007-BZA-2641CE and oval platter on counter 007-BZA-2629CE, both in Celery—GDC Home, Charleston, South Carolina; gdchome.com. Bowls and cookbooks in shelving—homeowners' collection.

Living room: fireplace tile 3-D Cut Marble in Athens Gray—Polyvore; polyvore.com. Green planter on bookshelf—Abide-A-While Nursery & Garden Center, Inc., Mount Pleasant, South Carolina; abideawhilegardencenter.com. Aqua bowl on bookshelf small Crackle pot LOA174OS—GDC Home, Charleston, South Carolina; gdchome.com. Green woven tray, throw on sofa by Cynthia Rowley—T.J. Maxx; tjmaxx.com (product line varies). Drapery fabric Kazak Linen in oyster, Roman shade tape Solid Band in lime—Robert Allen; robertallendesign.com (to the trade). Drapery rods custom design and fabrication—Ole Charleston Forge, Charleston, South Carolina; charlestonblacksmith.com. Rug Malta Knotted Wool in coffee, banding for rug Distressed leather—Fibreworks; fibreworks.com. Sofa Slipcovered Sofa C1074, fabric for sofa Santa Anna in Dry Wind by Calvin Fabrics, upholstered armchair Swivel Lounge 5200, fabric for armchair Wavy Goodbye in Greystone, ottoman Tufted ottoman 9769 in Olive leather—Lee Industries; leeindustries.com. Round wood end table Rosenau Round lamp table by Michael Vanderbyl 53016, square wood end table Rosenau Rectangular Lamp Table by Michael Vanderbyl 53017, both in Swirl Mahogany veneer—Bolier; bolierco.com (to the trade). Chrome end table—Regina Andrew Design USA; Riverview, Michigan; reginaandrew.com (to the trade). Aqua fabric for small-print pillows Primavera in Chaffinch from the Vintage Prints collection—Sanderson; (to the trade). Pillow on chair Linen Lime—World Market; worldmarket.com. Vases on mantel—homeowners' collection. 

HAPPY HOURS, pages N2-N12

Architectural inspiration: Joeb Moore, Joeb Moore & Partners, LLC; Greenwich, Connecticut; joebmoore.com.

Kitchen design: Mediterranean Custom Cabinets, West Bridgewater, Massachusetts; medcustomcabinets.com.

Construction: Juliano Enterprises, Plymouth, Massachusetts; julianoenterprises.com.

Throughout: windows—Lepage; lepagemillwork.com. Interior wall board Nantucket Beaded board with channel bead—contact local lumber retailers. Interior flooring American white oak—Mountain Lumber Co.; mountainlumber.com.

Exterior front porch: front door custom design—Rogue Valley; roguevalleydoor.com. Black Adirondack folding chairs Phat Tommy Folding Chair—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Table—Setting the Space Interiors, Plymouth, Massachusetts; settingthespace.com. Blankets—Pendleton Woolen Mills; Pendleton-usa.com. Front exterior flooring—contact local lumber retailers.

Outdoor theater: wicker lanterns—Setting the Space Interiors, Plymouth, Massachusetts; settingthespace.com. Chairs—PBteen; pbteen.com. Blankets—Pendleton Woolen Mills; Pendleton-usa.com. Outdoor rug, pillows—Dash & Albert Rug Co.; dashandalbert.com.

Dining room: table, chairs—Restoration Hardware; restorationhardware.com. Chandelier—Shades of Light; shadesoflight.com.

Living room: blue upholstered chairs—Restoration Hardware; restorationhardware.com. Coffee table—Setting the Space Interiors, Plymouth, Massachusetts; settingthespace.com. Rug—West Elm; westelm.com (product line varies).

Kitchen: countertops White Zeus Extreme straight-edge Silestone, from the Mythology collection—Cosentino USA; silestoneusa.com. Cabinetry rift-sawn oak—Mediterranean Custom Cabinets, West Bridgewater, Massachusetts; medcustomcabinets.com. Table, chairs—Restoration Hardware; restorationhardware.com.

Exterior back deck: rug, wicker lanterns, director chairs, coffee table—Setting the Space Interiors, Plymouth, Massachusetts; settingthespace.com. Back exterior flooring—Zuri Decking; zuridecking.com. Deck railing—Atlantis Rail Systems; atlantisrail.com. Sconces—Restoration Hardware; restorationhardware.com.

I DID IT! page 172

Fireplace: Ignis Products; ignisproducts.com

Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Share your take on this idea!
Upload your photo here.
CLOSE

More Resources

close
close
close
close
close

Loading... Please wait...

Add My Photo close
I Did It!
Share on Facebook
Uh oh! Please pick a jpg at least 600x600px.
Share on Facebook
Uh oh! Your photo failed to upload. Please try again or visit your profile.
No one has shared their photo yet.
close