May 2015

For more information about a product shown in a Better Homes and Gardens story, click on a website below. Details were verified at the time of publication, but we cannot guarantee availability of items or services. If an item isn't listed, it is vintage or discontinued or its source is unknown. Look for the Buy Now link. These select products are available for purchase through ShopBHG.

Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Share your take on this idea!
Upload your photo here.
CLOSE

FRESH GATHERINGS: DERBY DAY, pages 30–35

Navy napkins—Williams-Sonoma; williams-sonoma.com. Green seersucker tablecloth—Food52; food52.com. Glass cocktail stirrers—Ocean Beach Glass; oceanbeachglass.etsy.com. Pink-and-white napkins Pink Border Hemstitch Cocktail Napkins—Clever Delights; cleverdelights.etsy.com. Clear cocktail glasses Raise Double Old-Fashioned Glass—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com.

Pocket squares, bow tie, white fascinator hat on model—Vineyard Vines; vineyardvines.com. Pink paper treat cups—Party Pail; partypail.com.

Wooden tiered server purchased as 3-Tier Rustic Wood Stand, sold in set of two stands, silver container used as flower vase Silver Champagne Bucket—Save On Crafts; save-on-crafts.com. Punch bowl Classic Glass Punch Bowl—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Crate used as stand Eucalyptus Storage Box, gray-washed after purchase—CB2; cb2.com. Blue tablecloth denim fabric—contact local fabrics stores. Gray table runner—Fog Linen Work; shop-foglinen.com.

Silver cups holding drink stirrers, sugar, and mint Mint Julep Cups—Sur La Table; surlatable.com. Square white appetizer plates—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Horseshoe napkin weight—Arthur Court; arthurcourt.com. Cookie cutters—Kitchen Crafts; kitchencrafts.etsy.com. Model's dress—Neiman Marcus; neimanmarcus.com. Horses, trophies, silver trays and bowls—Vintage. Square boxwood wreath—Flora Décor; floradecor.net.

continue reading below

10 THINGS TO LOVE ABOUT GETTING FRESH WITH TRADITION, pages 37–44

Entryway: bench—Random Harvest, Alexandria, Virginia; randomharvesthome.com. Pillow on bench—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Table runner, dish towels used in making curtains—World Market; worldmarket.com.

Living room: rug—Crate and Barrel; buy now.

Checked pillow, ikat pillow, gold wishbone on coffee table—Random Harvest, Alexandria, Virginia; randomharvesthome.com. Pillow with gold dots, journal, vase on mantel Faceted Gem VaseAnthropologie; buy now. Throw—One Kings Lane; onekingslane.com. Candles tapers in Desert Olive—Creative Candles; creativecandles.com. Framed photography above sofa—Gray Malin; graymalin.com.

Kitchen: dish towels used in making curtains, red-and-white striped rug, chair cushions, wood-and-glass hurricane with candle on table, decanter, cake stand—World Market; worldmarket.com. Wineglasses—World Market; buy nowGold-and-white fruit bowl—Target; target.com. Red and gray plates, dish towel—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Cutting board—Crate & Barrel; buy now. Pitcher—Crate & Barrel; buy nowWallcovering white sisal twill—York Wallcoverings; yorkwall.com.

Sunroom: wood blocks—Land of Nod Color Blocks; landofnod.com. Animal-print pillows—Random Harvest, Alexandria, Virginia; randomharvesthome.com. Gold throw, papier-mâché animal heads—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com.

Bedroom: sheets Amelie Embroidered Sheet Set in lavender—Ballard Designs; buy nowQuilt Audree Pom Pom Quilt in Spa—Ballard Designs; buy now. Eurosham Parula Euro, print pillows—John Robshaw Textiles; johnrobshaw.com. Bed Colette—Crate and Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Votive and vase on desk—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com

Jewelry box—Random Harvest, Alexandria, VA; randomharvest.com. Wall paint Simply White—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com

COLOR: SATINY SMOOTH, pages 46–48

Color expertSteven Gambrel, S.R. Gambrel, Inc., New York City; 212/925-3380; srgambrel.com.

Silky blue paints shown: Windswept 5749—Dunn-Edwards Paints; dunnedwards.com. Scuba Blue 16-4725—Pantone; pantone.com. Stone Blue 86—Farrow & Ball; farrow-ball.com. Caribbean Blue—Benjamin Moore; benjaminmoore.com. Idyllic Isle 254-4—PPG Pittsburgh Paints; ppgpittsburghpaints.com.

Vase—BoConcept; boconcept.com. Throw pillows Fergano—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Chair Benjamin—High Fashion Home; highfashionhome.com

STATE OF THE SMART, pages 59–64

Blue purse The MightyPurse—Handbag Butler; handbagbutler.com. Portable wireless speaker MD-12 by Nokia; Microsoft; microsoftstore.com. Rebates app Snap—through Groupon; groupon.com. Restaurant list app—NoWait; nowaitapp.com/dining. Digital shopping app—Keep; keep.com. Video editing and hosting app—Veemotion; veemotion.com. Phone tripod Stance—Kenu; kenu.com. Cord organizer Cord Taco—This Is Ground; thisisground.com. Portable charger Giant+—Jackery; jackery.com. Shareable calendar—Sunrise; calendar.sunrise.am. Shareable documents—Dropbox; dropbox.com. Phone game—Trivia Crack; triviacrack.com. USB-compatible battery pack Bolt—Fluxmob; fluxmob.com. Printed photographs from your phone—Print Studio; printstud.io. Wireless mini printer Zip—Polaroid; polaroid.com. Bluetooth-connected ring—Ringly; ringly.com. Connect-the-dots game—Two Dots; weplaydots.com. Matching game Threes—Asher Vollmer; asherv.com/threes. Photo organization—This Life; thislife.com. External hard drive—SmugMug; smugmug.com. E-mail manager—Mailbox; mailboxapp.com. Password manager 1Password—Agile Bits; agilebits.com. Fitness tracker Activité Pop—Withings; withings.com. Wall socket Brio Safe—Brio; briohouse.com. Flash Expose Smart—Knog; knog.com.au. Virtual family library—Amazon; amazon.com/help, search: Family Library. 

LIGHT AND EASY, pages 66–70

Interior designer—Paige Sumblin Schnell, Tracery Interiors, Rosemary Beach, Florida; 850/213-3216; traceryinteriors.com

FROM HAMPER TO HANGER, pages 74–80

For more information about Lindsey Boyd and Gwen Whiting's products, contact The Laundress, New York City; 212/209-0074; thelaundress.com.

Toward washer and dryer, with Lindsey and Gwen: iron Rowenta DG8430—Bed Bath and Beyond; bedbathbeyond.com. Ironing board cover—The Laundress; buy now. Round floor basket Large Woven Seagrass Basket W5457—Wisteria; wisteria.com. White duvet in floor basket Colette French Knot 336671—Ballard Designs; buy now. Aluminum spray bottle by iron Metro 428248, glass canisters with glass lids on shelves available in three sizes, glass canister with brushed-aluminum lid on bottom left shelf Montana, clothespins in glass canister with brushed-aluminum lid, pink deodorant-removing sponge, orange dryer ball, and yellow pet hair sponges Gonzo in glass canister on bottom right shelf, cedar-and-lavender balls in glass hurricane on bottom right shelf, wooden hangers—The Container Store; containerstore.com. Clothing—J. Crew; jcrew.com. Blue dryer balls in glass jar on top left shelf, sold in set of two—Nellie's Natural; nelliesnatural.com. Metal bottle caddy on bottom left shelf, Hayden Beverage Caddy 311273—Ballard Designs; ballarddesigns.com. Galvanized bin on center shelf Small Galvanized Bin in silver, from the Better Homes and Gardens Collection®—Walmart; walmart.com. Copper watering can on center shelf—Dwell Store; store.dwell.com. Wooden implements in glass hurricane on bottom right shelf Milk Bottle Brush 876672, and Pot Brush 876342, both by Burstenhaus Redecker, Thin Handle Beechwood Spoon 262311, Vegetable Brush 289595—Sur La Table; surlatable.com.

Toward chalkboard with over-door shoe storage organizer: Chalkboard Quartet Reversible Chalkboard—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Small chalkboard labeling clips on pockets sold in set of four 1007806—Sur La Table; surlatable.com. Over-door shoe storage used as organizer 20-Pocket Eco-Fabric Overdoor Shoe Bag 10051865, clear spray bottle in pocket, clothespins, yellow pet hair sponge Gonzo—The Container Store; containerstore.com. Black dustpan with brush Horse Hair Dustpan Set, blue-and-white-striped linen towel in pocket Voshii Linen Border Towel—Dwell Store; store.dwell.com. White dryer ball in pocket Kikkerland Hedgehog Dryer Balls, sold in set of two—Bed Bath and Beyond; bedbathbeyond.com.

Toward open dryer: linen pillowcases with twill tape in blue D728, in lime green D587, and in aqua D379—Lacefield Designs; lacefielddesigns.com. Cotton canvas bag Umbra Crunch Basket—The Container Store; containerstore.com.

Toward folding table: laundry sorter under counter 3-Bag Laundry Sorter in brown and ivory 36908841, cloth-lined chicken wire basket under counter Chicken Wire Basket in black, both from the Better Homes and Gardens Collection®—Walmart; walmart.com. Countertop drying rack—The Container Store; containerstore.com. Stems of cotton plant—Afloral.com; afloral.com.

Laundry innovations: clothing refresher—Swash; swash.com. Double washer Twin Wash—LG; lg.com. Washer with pretreat sink ActivWash—Samsung; samsung.com

LIFE IN COLOR, page 89

Chair Wood Sirmione Outdoor Chair, pillow on chair Fiji Foliage Outdoor Lumbar Pillow—World Market; worldmarket.com. Table—Pier Square Teak Wood Outdoor Coffee Table—Overstock.com; buy now. Pillow on deck similar items available—Target; target.com.

KEEPING IT REAL, pages 90–97

Interior designer—Danielle Tarango, Danielle Tarango Design, Laguna Beach, California; 949/500-2621; danielletarango.com.

Foyer: bench with cushion—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Baskets—HomeGoods; homegoods.com. Floor tile Carocim—American Rag; amrag.com. Console, mirror, vase—homeowners' collection.

Living room: patterned chair, tan sofa, white sectional sofa all custom—through Danielle Tarango Design; danielletarango.com. Fabrics for chair and pillows on sofa—Design Team Fabrics; designteamfabrics.co.za; exclusively through Vertigo Home; vertigohome.us. Coffee table Pico, white chandelier Klemm—Oly Studio; olystudio.com. Clear coffee table Peekaboo—CB2; cb2.com. Birch side table, hide rug—homeowners' collection.

Dining room: pendant lights Caleb Simeon Banded Pendants—Siemon & Salazar; siemonandsalazar.com. Chairs Eiffel—Ezmod Interiors; ezmodfurniture.com. Table—homeowners' collection.

Kitchen: backsplash tile Falling Water Teak Tile—Stone and Pewter Accents; stonepewteraccents.com. Rug—HomeGoods; homegoods.com. Dishwasher—Miele; mieleusa.com. Stove—Bertazzoni; us.bertazzoni.com.

Master bedroom: bedside tables painted after purchase—Jensen Lewis; jensen-lewis.com. Chair with nailhead trim Eliza Chair by Thomas O'Brien—Hickory Chair Co.; hickorychair.com (to the trade). Gray rug Ikat Links—West Elm; westelm.com.

Artwork over bed—Julie Goldstein; juliegoldstein1.com. Plaid throw—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Bed frame—homeowners' collection.

Family room: gray mural custom design—Danielle Tarango, Danielle Tarango Design; danielletarango.com. Execution of mural—Amanda Burke Finishing & Design; amandaburkefaux.com. Coffee table—The Zen Artist; thezenartist.etsy.com.

Sectional sofa—Pottery Barn; potterybarn.com. Pillow—HomeGoods; homegoods.com. Blanket—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Console custom—homeowners' collection.

Library: cushions on window seats custom upholstery—Vertigo Home; vertigohome.us. Leather chair—homeowners' collection. 

SLICE OF PARADISE, pages 98-103

Outdoor light—Kichler; kichlerlightinglights.comLily of the Nile plant—Monrovia; monrovia.com. Overton black wicker side table—amazon.comBlack Forest armchairs—Janus et Cie; shopjanusetcie.com.

HOT SEATS, pages 104–105

Chairs on wall (left to right): Hot Mesh in Humble Red—Bludot; bludot.com. Bryant Faux Wood Patio Folding Chair from the Threshold collection—Target; target.com. Hot Mesh in Simple Blue—Bludot; bludot.com. Malaro in red—Ikea; ikea-usa.com.

Chair on ground (left to right): Wood Sirmione OutdoorWorld Market; worldmarket.com. Round Metal in red by Skalny—Burke Décor; burkedecor.com. Afton Metal Stacking in coral from the Threshold collection—Target; buy now. Gracie Outdoor Retro Spring in Caribbean Blue—Bellacor; buy now. Marcay Stacking Dining Side Chairs in green, blue, and orange—Wayfair; wayfair.com.

Pillows (left to right): Jahan—John Robshaw; johnrobshaw.com. Sunset Boulevard by Sunbrella—Chloe & Olive; chloeandolive.com. Two-Tone in Ocean and Charcoal Sunbrella canvas—Room & Board; roomandboard.com

I DID IT!, page 160

Wall and cabinet paint Wool Skein SW6148—Sherwin-Williams; sherwin-williams.com. Rug—RugsUSA.com; rugsusa.com. Dish towel—Anthropologie; anthropologie.com. Cutting board—Crate and Barrel; crateandbarrel.com.

AN OLD SOUL, pages Z2–Z8

Designer—Ryan Brown, Brown Design and Development, Los Angeles; 323/962-2600; browndesigninc.com.

Breakfast nook: chairs Soren 768987 in walnut—Room & Board; roomandboard.com. Table, cushions on chairs and banquette, pillows on banquet all custom—through Brown Design and Development; browndesigninc.com. Fabric for dark-patterned lumbar pillow Jakarta Linen print 174630 in Graphite—F. Schumacher & Co; fschumacher.com (to the trade). Fabric for cushions on chairs and banquette Sutton Stripe in Pumice, fabric for cream pillow with horizontal stripes Rowdy Stripe in Seagull, fabric for larger pillow with vertical stripes Tatton Stripe in Pumice—Perennials, through David Sutherland Showroom; davidsutherlandshowroom.com (to the trade). Pendant light small Metal Basket Lamp—Cisco Home; ciscohome.net.

Kitchen: cabinets, knobs, shelves, and brackets all custom—through Brown Design and Development; browndesigninc.com. Range, hood—Viking; vikingrange.com. Sink Anthem K-5840-5U in white—Kohler Co.; us.kohler.com. Faucet Bridge Faucet with side spray and metal cross handles in English bronze U.4755X—Perrin & Rowe, presented by Rohl; rohlhome.com.

Dining room: pendant at table Faceted Ball in oil-rubbed bronze with antique glass—Reborn Antiques and Reproductions; rebornantiques.net. Design of window treatment and credenzas, chain provided for corner lighting, reupholstering and refinishing of side chairs—Brown Design and Development; browndesigninc.com. Fabric for window treatments Kasai Harbour, an Artisan print M297/03 from the Mark Alexander collection by Romo—through Thomas Lavin Showroom; thomaslavin.com (to the trade). Fabrication of credenzas—Lawson Fenning; lawsonfenning.com. Corner lighting vintage iron pendants, circa 1950—through Paul Marra Design; paulmarradesign.com. Rug Sisal from the Signature collection 30BE165 in Sea Spray—Design Spec Carpet, West Hollywood, California; 310/859-8861 (to the trade). Dining table Dakota Oval in Firmdale Grey oak with matte antique nickel base by Julian Chichester—Mecox Gardens; mecoxgardens.com. Head dining chairs Metal-and-Leather Wing Back—Global Views, Inc.; globalviews.com (to the trade). Side dining chairs vintage Cleo Balden, circa 1960, reupholstered after purchase—House of Honey; houseofhoney.com. Leather for chairs Notting Hill in Metallic Quartz—Moore and Giles, Inc.; mooreandgiles.com. Framed prints above credenzas Water Towers, Elevation and Section by Soicher Marin—Lillian August; lillianaugust.com (to the trade).

SLIM-FIT STORAGE, pages N1–N2

Hallway wall paint Blissful Blue SW6257, paint in far room Rarified Air SW6525—Sherwin-Williams; sherwin-williams.com. Wallpaper Lamu in Bone—Serena & Lily; serenaandlily.com. Ceiling light Polyhedron Pendant Light in Brass—Shades of Light; shadesoflight.com. White cabinet made with two Baxton Studio Simms White Modern Shoe Cabinets—Overstock; overstock.com. Rug Gray Floral In/Out Runner—Target; target.com. Square pencil holders, rectangular blue desktop container from the I Could've Bin a Container collection—Land of Nod; landofnod.com.

File storage in cabinets—Clear Acrylic Adjustable Pocket Holder—Displays2Go by George Patton Associates, Inc.; displays2go.com. Cabinet with wicker baskets Gallerie Décor Nantucket 6 Drawer 6 Basket Chest in Cream—Wayfair; wayfair.com. Pendant light Kichler Cartone Bronze Pendant—Lamps Plus; buy now. Rug with diamond pattern Mosaic Wool Dhurrie by Sarah Campbell—West Elm; westelm.com. Canvas stretchers for display frame—Michaels; michaels.com. Paint for display frame Paris Grey—Annie Sloan; anniesloan.com. Lincoln Logs for picture holder—K'Nex Brands, LLC; knex.com

NEAT TRICK, pages N4–N8

Designer—Liz Levin, Liz Levin Interiors, Inc., Washington, D.C.; 202/333-5386; lizlevininteriors.com.

Roman shades, armchairs, sofa, zebra ottoman—Liz Levin Interiors lizlevininteriors.com. Coffee table— Liz Levin Interiors; lizlevininteriors.com. Mirrors, large vase, basket—Crate & Barrel; crateandbarrel.com. Mirrored tray—Century Furniture; centuryfurniture.com. Clear vase—Pottery Barn; 800/922-5507; potterybarn.com. Leather chairs, floor lamp by window Lucille—Oly Studio; olystudio.com. Library lamp—Restoration Hardware; restorationhardware.com. Artwork on mantel—Barbara K. Buer; bkbfloralart.com. X-base side tables—Arteriors; arteriorshome.com. Table lamp similar items available—Restoration Hardware; 800/762-1005; restorationhardware.com. Picture frames on cabinet, horses on mantel—Jonathan Adler; 877/287-1910; jonathanadler.com. Bird figurine—Kellogg Collection; kelloggcollection.com. Decorative box on coffee table—World Market; worldmarket.com. Shell vase—Jean-Pierre Antiques, Washington, D.C.; 202/337-1731; jeanpierreantiques.com. Books—homeowners' collection.

Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Oops, we're sorry. Something went wrong. Please try again later.
Share your take on this idea!
Upload your photo here.
CLOSE

More Resources

close
close
close
close
close

Loading... Please wait...

Add My Photo close
I Did It!
Share on Facebook
Uh oh! Please pick a jpg at least 600x600px.
Share on Facebook
Uh oh! Your photo failed to upload. Please try again or visit your profile.
No one has shared their photo yet.
close